Skip to content

Things I learned this August

8 September 2011
  • Although I’ve made the Consort’s life difficult for years, insisting that my pillow was the only one I could sleep with, it seems that actually, no, any old fabric-wrapped foam will do.
  • Mole sauce is not, as I long believed, a chocolate sauce for chicken. That may be one sort of mole sauce, but not the only. Mark Bittman’s green mole sauce, made from tomatillos, is amazing.
  • Sophomore year just sucks. ‘struth. There’s just no other way to put it. It knocked Impera to the floor when she went through it, and is now doing the same to Trixie.
  • Senior year, on the other hand, has been pretty smooth sailing so far.
  • Each child is different. Yes, I noticed this when they were babies, I kept it in mind when they were toddlers, and I saw it in play every day when they were kids. Silly me seemed to have forgotten it though. Trixie is SO.MUCH DIFFERENT. from her sister — it’s like learning to live with a teenager all over again.
  • My favorite snack right now (if I’m not making a burrito with that green mole sauce, that is): a tortilla with fresh goat cheese and peach compote. Mmmmm.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 September 2011 3:01 pm

    i’m very possessive of my (three) pillows. And we ate in a fancyish Mexican restaurant recently where my husband had pork with a trio of moles, each better than the last. Oh, and hi!

  2. Three of Four permalink
    9 September 2011 9:57 am

    Remind me never to read your blog around lunchtime. Now, I’m craving lots of things I do not currently have in the pantry! 😦

  3. 9 September 2011 11:09 pm

    Do you make your own peach compote? The tortilla dish sounds yummy, and we’ve still got peaches coming in from our fruit CSA.

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      10 September 2011 1:35 pm

      I did make my own peach compote! I used the general idea from this post: http://www.toomanychefs.net/archives/001052.php. I made a cheesecake, but a more traditional cream cheese one, and I made a gingersnap cookie crust. You lucky duck: our peach tree is done. But we made several cobblers/slumps/etc, and I made a batch of peach ice cream too. Enjoy your peaches.

Leave a Reply

