Skip to content

You are all wise, my dear advice-givers

6 May 2011

Phew! Getting those questions off my chest sure did me a world of good. I think the suggestion that kids do their own laundry is a good one. In fact, the girls have been doing their own laundry since they were ten years old.

Except … our dryer stopped working about six weeks ago, and it wasn’t a good time for spending money on frivolous things like gas dryers.

So, we put up some line, and started drying clothes the old fashioned way.

Unfortunately, we’ve had a very wet, very gray, rather cold Spring. It wasn’t possible for laundry to be done on Saturdays or Sundays — when the girls were home from school; instead, one had to plan ahead, reviewing the weekly forecast to see which day (and I mean singular day) would not be rainy or have a high of only 35F. And even when the temperatures were in the 50s, it wasn’t possible for a load to be put out at 3 pm (after school) and be dry by sundown.

So, I started doing family laundry again (like “back in the old days”, when the girls were little). By autumn, we’ll have a new dryer, and the girls will be back to doing their own laundry.

But for now, I can see how many pairs of jeans they wash every week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 14 July 2011 6:25 am

    I MISS a clothesline–haven’t had one for 4 or 5 years. I sincerely wish I had the space for one now!
    There’s nothing like the smell of sheets that have dried in the sun. So fresh and crisp! Also towels seem to be more absorbent when dried outside.
    The city girl and I never put jeans in the dryer. We put them on a skirt hanger and hang them over a bedroom door to air dry. (less shrinkage that way…)

Leave a Reply

