Skip to content

A little blue

18 March 2011

Yesterday I woke up feeling sad. Part of that is that I’m not sleeping well. Not because I’m worrying about something — although I used to be that way a lot. In fact, it was one reason I gave up being a Girl Scout leader; planning meetings would stress me out. No, the reason I’m not sleeping well (more that I’m not sleeping deeply, so am easily awakened around 3-4 in the morning, then can’t get back to sleep because the Consort is sleeping so deeply beside me) is that I’ve been drinking a glass of wine for several nights in a row. Sure wish I wasn’t so sensitive that that sort of thing.

I’ve also been spending much more time than usual sitting at my desk, and my upper back has been killing me.* A subcontracting edit job came in (more on that in a sec) and it has turned out to be a bigger job than I expected. As in, full working days on Saturday and Sunday just to try to keep up. So although this past week has been Spring Break for the girls and the Consort, and although I had big plans of blogging daily for Lent (not that I practice any sort of organized religion anymore, but I do like the idea), I’ve been learning all sorts of terrible things about complex diseases, and the unbelievable number of drugs people need to take just to survive (which leads to drug interaction issues, and subsequent illnesses, and … well, it’s no surprise that yesterday out of the blue I told Impera, “Don’t get AIDS!,” and she was super-confused: I had just given her money to get me some medicinal dark chocolate to keep my focus up, why did I think she’d get AIDS on the way to the corner store?)

So, I’m trying to embrace the feasting, because I had been experiencing my fair share of work famine in the past few months, but it can be hard.

*And before you say anything: I have a screen-lifter so my screen is at eye level, I have an office chair, and a foot rest. So it isn’t that I’m working in a completely non-ergonomic manner (like the Consort, who slouches over his laptop on the couch all evening. Ahem.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 March 2011 3:18 pm

    I ordered a lot of dark chocolate yesterday, most of it for Eloise, who is pregnant and has a birthday coming, but three bars for me, which is v bad. It is absolutely beautiful stuff, though.

    Sorry to hear about your back, I’m very careful to have my computer screen at eye level and arm’s length too, but sitting in one place for too long is never good. Hope it gets better soon.

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      22 March 2011 7:25 am

      Dark chocolate — what could we do without it? (Not much!)

  2. Three of Four permalink
    21 March 2011 10:34 am

    Eek! I hope that the job finishes up well and quickly.

    I hear you on the wine front. I can’t quite drink like I used to and, when I do, I wake up anxious and jittery around 5 a.m. I keep a notepad by the bed to write down all the crazy thoughts that keep me from settling back in. I only sort of helps.

    I found that, in addition to not having as much, cutting myself off earlier in the evening helps more. Something about rehydrating with water or juice after I’ve had the wine, or just letting the effects wear off before bed seems to help. We’ve also established an only-with-dinner rule for weeknights. It keeps me from drinking the wine too late, and forces me to do something other than sit and revel in the grapes. So, well, I’m either more productive, or going to bed earlier — both of which are good for me!

    Now that the days are lengthening, I plan to start walking off the wine (and dinner) before bed. Do you take the last evening walk with the dog? If not, that might help de-stress and de-tox…?

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      22 March 2011 7:28 am

      No end in sight — this project will be going on thru July. And over the weekend I realized some things that were not clearly explained early on means I will be making a poor page rate on this project. Sigh. I always drink a big glass of water for every glass of wine, and yep, I have it with food. I suppose it’s good that I can’t overindulge, but really, sometimes I’d like to enjoy wine without consequences. And, until this project, I was walking 3-4 miles a day. Now, I just don’t have the time. Blah. Blah blah blah.

  3. 21 March 2011 4:23 pm

    I sit a lot as well, and my lower back bothers me from time to time. Recently I decided to try yoga — I’ve been doing a simple yoga practice for seven weeks now and it really seems to be helping. I recommend Kraftsow’s Viniyoga Therapy dvds (they’re great for beginners like me).

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      22 March 2011 7:30 am

      What’s weird about this is that it is *upper* back pain (I’m normally a low-back-pain person). I’ve been doing many shoulder and back stretches throughout the day, and it’s been getting better. I wish yoga worked for me, but last spring I must have overdone things and my wrists (which hold lots of weight in many yoga poses) started to hurt and it took 6+ months for them to heal. So, take care of your wrists, wil!

  4. 24 March 2011 7:41 am

    I would suggest switching to *two* glasses of wine a night. Or three. 😉

Leave a Reply

