Skip to content

Bullet points that could have made blog posts, if I had taken the time to write recently

13 February 2011
  • When I was a teen, I used to cringe when my mother would strike up conversations with strangers — beside us in line, in a waiting room, or just brief encounters on the street. Why would anyone do that? How embarrassing, I thought. I recently realized after a passing conversation with a stranger in a shop that I have become my mother.
  • Did you know that Canadians have a national treat, with a creation story similar to American Toll House chocolate chip cookies? Their treat is called Nanaimo bars (named for the town the woman lived in) and I am making them for dessert tonight. I think we underestimate the individuality of Canada too often. Heck, Mexico is also part of North America, but we don’t absorb their culture into U.S. culture in the same way we do to Canadian culture.
  • I’m thinking of doing a cleanse, thanks to the raves I followed on one blogger’s recent experiences with this particular program. Of course, I’m not buying any “products”, I’ve bought the book — that’s all. I believe strongly that we eat as much as it takes to fill our stomach (the organ, not the belly). I think getting off sugar, caffeine, dairy, and wheat for a couple of weeks, and shrinking the size of my stomach, certainly can’t harm anything. And should give me a good jumping off point for continuing my weight loss goals.
  • A month of doing laundry at the laundromat (our washer died in January) wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. In fact, I think having to schedule time in to do laundry helped me get more done than I normally would have during these quiet days of winter. On the other hand, I sure am glad to have a new washing machine in my house! Now all those sheets, tablecloths, and bulky items I put aside for four weeks can get washed.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. 15 February 2011 8:46 am

    Dairy and wheat? No problem. Caffeine? No way. Sugar? Does that include wine?

  2. 15 February 2011 9:36 am

    Ooooh, I LURVE Nanaimo bars. They’re sort of like chocolate-chip cookies: there are lots of different recipes for them, but they all pretty much the same. And delicious. Yum. Is this the recipe you used? How did they turn out?

  3. Cate permalink
    16 February 2011 11:32 pm

    The bars look great! Aren’t you going to tell us their story? What do you mean I have to look it up on the internet myself!

    lol

    Have you read any Flavia de Luce? I ❤ her.

  4. isabelita permalink
    20 February 2011 1:50 pm

    Ooh, I have had Nanaimo Bars when up in B.C. I adore chocolate and coconut combinations. I think I shall get to making some of those for “energy” bars! Calories are calories, and I loathe the supposedly healthy wads of sawdust and stale peanut flavoring that are out there.

  5. cowgirl permalink
    24 February 2011 10:36 am

    ok – this:

    ” I recently realized after a passing conversation with a stranger in a shop that I have become my mother. ”

    made me LOL

  6. 4 March 2011 4:00 am

    Oh go on turn them into posts

Leave a Reply

