Skip to content

Finding the happy

24 June 2010

This week has turned out to be stressfully busy. Two projects that I knew were going to be whoppers were under control, but then I was unexpectedly pulled in to help feed and host 200 people at a Debate tournament (with 6 days’ notice), and I started a chain of emails that brought stress to all my sisters.

So yesterday I went out in the garden and made myself find some happy. Here’s what I saw.

Milkweed
Milkweed

Almost-ripe gooseberries
Almost-ripe gooseberries

Potatoes!
Potatoes!

Hostas that are flowering
Hostas about to flower

Chickens unafraid of the lawn mower
Chickens unafraid of the lawnmower

Mushrooms
A hidden cluster of mushrooms.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 June 2010 12:16 pm

    Ah, yes—there are plenty of things to make a person happy outdoors. For even more happiness, plop yourself down on the grass in the shade. Lie completely down and stretch out. And even, perhaps, fall asleep for a bit.

  2. 29 June 2010 1:28 am

    I love those mushrooms, and the bold chickens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

