Skip to content

More summer treats

18 June 2010

The other day, another of the blogs I read mentioned their popsicle maker. They raved about it, and provided a yummy recipe to try. Now, a week or so ago Trixie wanted to make popsicles, but although we could find the reusable sticks to our old Tupperware popsicle set, we couldn’t find the actual molds. Soooo, temptation and blog-envy being what it is, I ordered up the $13 Norpro set, along with two books, so that we could take advantage of the free super-saver shipping.

The day it arrived, I washed it and filled it

New popsicle maker

and put it in the freezer.

By evening, we had some darn tasty popsicles:

Mmmm, homemade popsicle
Yogurt, 1 banana, black raspberries, and 1/4 cup sugar.

Yum!

They disappeared mighty fast, so yesterday I decided to see what we had in the backyard that I could whir up in the blender and freeze in my popsicle maker.

Today we tried out my experiment:

Popsicle recipe #2
Currants, coconut milk (to tone down the tartness of the berries), a banana, and 1/3 cup sugar.

Yum redux! Have a good weekend…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 June 2010 5:12 pm

    Yum.

  2. 19 June 2010 2:21 pm

    Ok. Now I have popsicle envy, but I still have the Tupperware set. I am going to try those yummy “recipes” though. Thanks!

  3. 21 June 2010 9:28 am

    I have one; often we just freeze lemonade, sometimes with some fruit dropped in.

    Over the weekend, we stumbled on a paleta shop that had flavors to die for. I had one with strawberry, mango, pineapple and ginger syrup. I wanted another flavor instantly. (http://www.zoradora.com/Zora_Doras_Micro_Batch_Ice_Cream/News.html)

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      22 June 2010 3:02 pm

      Lemonade pops is great idea! And I like the sound of the Lemon and Toasted Sesame pops at Zora Dora. Yummmm.

  4. Cowgirl permalink
    22 June 2010 9:14 am

    we love posicles too!! we got this for Christmas:

    http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/zoku-quick-pop-maker/?bnrid=3152601&cm_ven=NBSearch&cm_cat=Googlee&cm_pla=FocusProductsZokuQuickPopMaker&cm_ite=$zoku%20quick%20pop%20maker

    and the boys LOVE it– it really does make them in less than 10 minutes. Can’t do fancy ones, but Frozen OJ pops and Fozen pudding pops are a HUGE hit in my house

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      22 June 2010 3:00 pm

      OMG, that looks amazing!

  5. 22 June 2010 9:59 am

    Those look delicious! Can you offer a more precise recipe for those of us (*raises hand*) who need it? We have a popsicle mold, and now that the summer swelter has finally arrived, I’m sure Sylvia would enjoy some frozen yogurt treats.

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      22 June 2010 3:00 pm

      Sure! First recipe: for ten 3-oz. popsicles, I used 1.5 cups yogurt, 1 banana, 1.5 cups raspberries, and 1/4 cup sugar.

      For the second recipe, I used 1.5 cups coconut milk (1 can), 1 banana, 1.5 cups currants, and 1/2 cup sugar (currants are much more tart than raspberries).

      Now, go wild!

Leave a Reply

