Skip to content

Still here, and random

17 June 2010

I’m still here. Early summer’s been really busy! Mostly with the eating of the fruit. We try to eat seasonally, and in the winter is when we allow ourselves shipped foods like bananas (such a treat!), since whatever we ate would have to be shipped in, anyway. Spring is the roughest time, because you get so darn tired of apples, apples, apples. And the grocery stores are full of shipped in strawberries, blueberries, and melons (melons, for crying out loud!) that are oh so tempting, even if we know they’d be flavorless and cost way too many food miles. But now, our garden is in full swing, hence lots of strawberries, currants (red, white, and new this year: pink), and sour cherries.

I’ve got a post brewing about “literature”, but I hate to come right in after a hiatus and rant, but the problem with that is that I rehash it in my head so many times that by the time I’m ready to blog, the idea feels stale and I’m no longer interested. But this one, I really want to get a conversation going. Soon!

Here’s something that popped into my head the other day: In old movies and tv shows, whenever a pregnant woman was going into labor, the doctor or midwife would roll up their sleeves and say “Bring me lots of clean sheets and hot water!” OK. I totally get the clean sheets bit. I’ve had two babies, I know what that’s for. But why hot water (or boiling water)? They aren’t going to sterilize some salad tong forceps, are they? They wouldn’t want to dip the baby in a hot water bath, would they?

This is the question that stumps me these days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Three of Four permalink
    17 June 2010 8:07 am

    I always assumed the hot water was for the doctor or midwife to wash their hands??

    Here’s a good labor & delivery tidbit for you: Back in the early ’90s, EMTs and other first responders were told that, if they had to assist in an emergency delivery (didn’t/couldn’t make it to hospital in time) and found themselves without clean sheets or sterile supplies, it was best to use… newspaper! Back in those old days, the inside pages were rarely (if ever) touched by human hands (machine cutting & folding, etc.) and the heat levels applied to the paper and ink during manufacture ensured that your inside sections were a lot closer to sterile than John Doe’s bathroom towel.

Leave a Reply

