Skip to content

Front-row seats

25 May 2010

Thanks to all of you who let me know you read my previous, cryptic post.  This follow-up will need to remain cryptic too, and I know you’ll understand why as share what I can.

I feel like the past few weeks we’ve had front-row seats to another family’s Jodi Picoult–style drama. Although someone else’s cryptic email to me had me worrying for a while that one near and dear to me was a victim, too (but that was when I thought the characters involved were a completely different cast), that turned out not to be the case. But the reality is bitter enough.

Every story has at least two sides, depending on the way you hold the hologram. Which side holds the truth? Sometimes it’s cut and dried; often, it’s not. The story involves that violence which is still too common against women in our society. A child. A parent. Siblings and family caught in the middle. A victim brought to an inpatient clinic and kept sedated, the removal of siblings, a shell-shocked suspect who insists on innocence, a family torn apart. Questions on both sides.

We do what we can.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 May 2010 3:30 pm

    that sounds horrendous.

    all i can say is that i hope it works out as well and as easily as it possibly can for all those involved.

    x

  2. 25 May 2010 4:30 pm

    I’m so sorry. I wish I had something wise to say. Wishing everyone peace.

  3. 25 May 2010 8:36 pm

    Oof. That sounds dreadful.

  4. 26 May 2010 11:18 am

    It sounds horrible for all involved. I hope things are peacefully and positively resolved soon.

  5. 26 May 2010 8:55 pm

    I’m so sorry for everyone in that family, and sorry that you have had to watch all of this happen.

  6. Diane permalink
    28 May 2010 12:32 am

    Yikes…this sounds horrible…it’s tough to be a bystander to another family’s tragedy. You said, “We do what we can.” To those involved, this may seem like a lot, even though you may be feeling you are doing little. Bearing witness to another’s pain is a more remarkable gift than we realize.

  7. 3 June 2010 5:43 am

    Most women I have known seem to have a tendency to hang tough and pull together when it matters the most. Sounds as if the same is true is in your corner of the world….

    You’ll all get through this, stronger and wiser.

Leave a Reply

