Skip to content

What’re your favorite Terry Pratchett novels?

31 March 2010

My goodness, did you feel the Good Omens love on yesterday’s post?

In my opinion, Terry Pratchett is an allusionary genius. (And hilarious, to boot.)

I’ve dipped into his Discworld series quite a bit, and I also like his young adult books (oh, Wee Free Men, ye nae make me frown!)

If I were to pick, or to introduce someone to Pratchett, then I would suggest

  • Wyrd Sisters (homage to Shakespeare, how could I not?)
  • Small Gods
  • Hogfather
  • And really, anything with DEATH as character

What are your favorites?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. KathyR permalink
    31 March 2010 7:39 am

    Never read any, but off to check him out now!

  2. 31 March 2010 8:54 am

    Does Death appear in every Discworld book?

    I love the Tiffany Aching series. The last one comes out this fall. I can’t wait until Sylvia (who is already nuts about witches) is old enough for them.

    I do love the Witch series, but the City Watch books just barely edge ahead in my estimation. I have a special fondness for Sam Vimes and have really enjoyed seeing his character evolve.

    Here’s what I would LOVE to see one day: an encounter between Granny Weatherwax and Sam Vimes. They are in many ways kindred spirits. Do you think they’d get along or hate each other?

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      2 April 2010 11:43 am

      I didn’t think Death appears in the City Watch books — but I’m woefully behind in that subset. Death (including, of course, Death of Rats) and Eeyore (A.A. Milne’s, not Disney’s) may be my favorite book characters of all time.

  3. Three of Four permalink
    31 March 2010 3:29 pm

    Ooooh! I love “Small Gods” and “Thud!” Both can get me laughing just remembering them.

  4. 2 April 2010 6:44 am

    Love Suzanne Collins, and love Neil Gaiman, but haven’t tapped into Terry Pratchett. Thanks for the headsup.

  5. 2 April 2010 5:17 pm

    Death appears in every Discworld novel except Wee Free Men.

  6. 10 May 2010 9:29 am

    Love Monstrous Regiment.

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      11 May 2010 9:34 am

      I think I read that one. That’s the one with the women of various “species” all pretending to be men in the army, right? Loved it!

Leave a Reply

