Skip to content

An unexpected perk

19 February 2010

I’ve always been amazed at how quickly other people complete a knitting project. They can cast on for a sweater  — a sweater! — and within two weeks have the thing knit, blocked, and sewn together. I just can’t do that. I never thought that I knitted more slowly than the norm (watching new knitters poke and wrap and slide stitches off at a snail’s pace drives me nuts), so I figured it must be my 21st century short attention span. After a few rows I find myself daydreaming, itching to check the Web, or ever read a few paragraphs of whatever book I’m reading at the time.

But in the past week of Olympics viewing, I think I have another answer: TV watching. We don’t watch primetime TV, as you know. We’ll rent DVDs of movies and even television series, but those have no commercial breaks, and when I watch a DVD I like to be able to watch it and listen at the same time — no multi-tasking, because otherwise I feel like I’m missing the subtleties of the story (or the acting). But prime time! Oh, the joys of 15 minutes of commercials per hour of broadcasting. I’ve been able to both knit and watch medal competition very happily the past 7 days. and what do I have to show for it?

These garter rib socks for Trixie, which I started in early December, but put on hold once I started playing Dragon Age last month:

Garter stitch socks

She picked this lovely multi (Ranco, by Araucania yarns) and the stitch pattern (from my Getting Started Knitting Socks book [which deserves a post of its own, soon!]). I loved the yarn from the first, but wasn’t sure about the stitch pattern. But I’m so glad she chose it.

Garter stitch socks

I’m not sure these pictures do the stitch pattern justice (she’s become an unwilling model these past few months), but it’s got enough texture to make them interesting, and, because it’s a garter rib, it’s not loose and saggy like most lace patterns (I like me a snug sock). In fact, I liked it so much I cast on for another pair for me, in a lovely eggplant colorway from Araucania:

My next project

I’ve got another seven days of Olympics watching. Who knows? I may be close to finishing this pair by then.

…We’ll see!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 February 2010 11:12 pm

    By Andraste those are beautiful socks!

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      21 February 2010 8:03 am

      Why thank you, Wil. (Funny, you never struck me as an organized religion sorta guy…)

  2. 25 February 2010 9:56 pm

    Well…I was being a bit silly, but those are very nice socks. Love the multi-colour.

Leave a Reply

