Skip to content

Exercise: Ur doin’ it wrong

8 February 2010

8 years ago: Taekwondo. Participate for about 2 years, get up to green belt, then do some high kick that tears my plantar fascia to the point that I think I’ve broken my leg. That’s out.

6 years ago: Start the Cool Running Couch-to-5K running program. At week 2, tear my fascia again. Visits to a podiatrist teaches me that my tendons are too loose — they don’t prevent me from over stretching. So running is out of the picture, forever.

4 years ago: Take yoga at a local studio. Fun. But the monthly fee is a killer. Give it up.

2 years ago: Hike every autumn weekend in the mountains of NH while we’re on sabbatical. Stamina goes up, strength increases, … but then we return to flat, uninspiring Iowa.

1 year ago: Begin a 5-times-a-week home aerobics program. Feel great! Notice shrinkage! But then an excrutiating pain in the muscles of my head (not neck) stops me. Try acupuncture, visit chiropractor, nothing helps. Pain is gone after our 3-week summer travels (during which I did no crunches or other ab work). Makes me think it’s the ab work, so now I fear it.

5 days ago: Receive the hula hoop that I ordered from hoopnotica. First two days, I’m a failure. Third day, I can keep it up for most of 5 minutes! This is great! Fourth day, I noticed bruises (veritable BLACK AND BLUES) on my ribcage and waist.

Sigh. I’m losing confidence.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. KathyR permalink
    8 February 2010 2:09 pm

    Well, that’s discouraging.

    I guess you need to move permanently to New Hampshire. Or swim? Or wrap your head in bubble wrap when you do the home aerobics?

    Maybe you’ll get used to the hoop? Or the bruises?

    Also, on behalf of all PI readers, we demand hula hoop video.

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      9 February 2010 2:02 pm

      I’m hoping the bruises are temporary. Video? Not bloody likely!

  2. 8 February 2010 4:15 pm

    No good walks around there? Or how about an indoor climbing gym? I have so much fun at climbing sessions. (I can’t run any more, either, due to some weird ass thing in the back of my hip).

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      9 February 2010 2:03 pm

      This winter has been pretty snowy — and cold. I don’t mind walking in 30-degree weather, but 10-15 degrees is just dangerous. As to climbing, I’m not sure my fear of heights helps that at all.

  3. 8 February 2010 4:47 pm

    Is it possible that you’re being over-enthusiastic? Maybe if you built up gradually you wouldn’t get bruised.

    I’m impressed by mastering the hula hoop though. I don’t think I am capable of ever being that supple again.

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      9 February 2010 2:05 pm

      The problem with hula hoops is that most of the ones you find are for kids. The diameter of the hoop needs to be approx. your height from the floor to your ribs — so unless you get a reasonable sized one, it’s impossible. (And really, it’s just a bit of forward and back motion — not really swooping in circles…)

  4. 8 February 2010 6:23 pm

    Hmm…you’d think you’d get your bruises via Taekwondo, not hula hoop. 😉

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      9 February 2010 2:05 pm

      One would expect that. But then, I’m not one to follow rules of logic!

  5. three of four permalink
    8 February 2010 9:10 pm

    I’m with KathyR! As a lifelong failure at hula hoop, I demand video! OK. I politely request video to try to figure out how I’m still doing it wrong…

  6. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    9 February 2010 2:06 pm

    Oh dear. Maybe I will do video, in several months! Or perhaps I’ll just share the links I’ve found on youtube. Yep, that’s the safest!

  7. 11 February 2010 8:56 am

    One word for you: walk.

Leave a Reply

