Skip to content

Chevron Love

23 November 2009

It was an unexpected sunny morning, which was the perfect time to introduce you to my latest knitting project.

There was a bit of a delay, as I first had to get the remote working correctly.

Chevron Mittens :: 1

I ordered the pattern and yarns early in October, but the Socktober mystery socks took up most of that month.

Now, chevron is a lovely basic pattern, easy to memorize. Which means that knitting it can get boring, even with color changes every three rows. Luckily, I discovered Dan Carlin’s Hardcore History podcasts just as I was starting these, and that was the perfect accompaniment to the process of knitting these mittens.

Chevron Mittens :: 3

While knitting these beauties, I listened to 5.5 hours on the battles of WWII’s Eastern Front and 4 hours on the Punic Wars. If you ever find yourself with time to kill, I highly recommend these podcasts. Entertaining as well as educational. Edutainment for the masses.

Chevron Mittens :: 5

I adore these mittens. And they are just as beautiful on the inside as they are on the outside.

Chevron Mittens :: 6
(Yes, I realize I’m bragging, but I don’t care. It’s not my skill as much as much as designer and yarn dyer Julia Vesper’s skill we’re talking about here, anyway.)

They make me smile — I can’t wait to wear them once the weather gets cold.

Chevron Mittens :: 4

Chevron Love Mittens, in the Vintage Appliance colorway.
Pattern and yarn kit available from Knitterly Things.
Chevron Mittens :: 9

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Three of Four permalink
    24 November 2009 9:23 am

    Wow, these are beautiful!!

  2. 24 November 2009 2:01 pm

    Those are just great!

  3. 24 November 2009 2:29 pm

    Those look just amazing! Happy mitten weather!(Not that we have it here yet)

  4. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    24 November 2009 5:26 pm

    Thank you, one and all 🙂

  5. 24 November 2009 8:28 pm

    You know we are all saying nice things just ’cause we’re hoping you’ll give them to us. 🙂

  6. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    25 November 2009 11:11 am

    No. No. And HELL NO! These are for me! I gave my Anemoi mittens to my mother a year ago, so I need these for me myself and I. And even if I had another pair around, I just looooove these colors too much to want to share. 😉

Leave a Reply

