Skip to content

Dazed and Distracted

18 November 2009

I want to write something about the new mammography recommendations, but several experiences have distracted me to a point where residual frustration is affecting my ability to string my thoughts together.

  • My favorite baristo gave me a REALLY STRONG latte. I didn’t ask for this special treatment, and I’m still dealing with the jitters, four hours later.
  • Second day in a row that I received returned mail for “sender not at this address”. But in both cases, the sender DOES live at that address.
  • I spent too much time at the post office trying to get the local one taken care of. I had to visit two different branches, and no one addressed the root problem of TWO completely separate pieces of mail getting returned on back-to-back days, implying a bigger problem than simply a “lazy” mail carrier.
  • A woman in a minivan, backing into a parking space at post office #2, was too close to my car and scratched the side. When I shouted at her to stop, she leaned her head out and said, “Oh, did I hit your car?” Yes, you damn well hit my car!
  • I was standing RIGHT IN the spot she was backing up into. If I hadn’t looked up (and she hadn’t been scratching my car), would she have even seen me, or would a tiny scratch have turned into a squished Imperatrix? (And why did I even think that getting right up to the back of her minivan would do any good — do I not have my self-preservation reactions cranked up to full power?)
  • I am trying to corral internal rants about minivan drivers in general, people with handicapped tags on their windshield not knowing how to drive (and who don’t seem particularly handicapped to ME), and people who don’t take responsibility for their actions.

See you tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 November 2009 7:59 am

    Well, this is all terrible! First they don’t know how to deliver the mail and then they try to kill you!

    Go home and switch from coffee to wine and tell your peeps to contact you online instead.

  2. Three of Four permalink
    19 November 2009 9:56 am

    Sigh. As a minivan driver (I know! I know!), I apologize for the stupid lady; as a driver of anything, I apologize for the stupid people jeopardizing our lives on roads worldwide. Please tell me you kicked a good dent in the back or keyed one of her panels?

    I think Ellie’s beverage recommendation is EXCELLENT and suggest you follow it right away. I plan to make it a daily replacement to my morning coffee… Watch my productivity soar!

Leave a Reply

