Skip to content

Clueless

11 November 2009

Two unrelated things about which I have had an epiphany in the past few days:

  • The company name GATTACA. I saw this movie years ago, and I finally get it! (Just a random blip thought as I went through my day — it hadn’t been on my mind at all.)
  • I’ve been wondering all Fall about the crazy number of pairs of Mormon missionaries I was seeing walk down my street. Today I realized: They are students of the University Business School, whose buildings are on this side of campus. (Missionaries, wannabe captains of industry: they all look alike to this Pinko-Commie.)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. cowgirl permalink
    12 November 2009 8:53 am

    I love random epiphanies… they make me feel so smart and so stupid at the same time ;~)

  2. 12 November 2009 1:39 pm

    What does “GATTACA” mean? I haven’t had that “aha”…
    And yeah, about conservative dress styles.

  3. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 November 2009 2:41 pm

    Cowgirl: you always know how to make me feel SO GOOD about myself 😉

    Isabelita: In the movie, the company GATTACA prepares subjects for space travel, and they analyze your DNA to decide what job you are good for. DNA is a chain of four types of nucleotides: adenine, cytosine, guanine, and thymine, which are represented by their initial letters. With those letters, you can make up the word GATTACA. Ta da!

  4. 12 November 2009 9:34 pm

    But since codons for proteins are three nucleotides long, it’s really quite a meaningless name…

Leave a Reply

