Skip to content

Adrenaline Rush

7 November 2009

Whoever came up with the idea of emergency-vehicle alarms was a genius. Whenever I hear one, I can feel my adrenaline ramp up, and I feel like I should be doing something. Oh yes.

Although I never had (nor currently have) any interest in the tediousness of medical school, if I could snap my fingers and find myself turned into an E.R. doc, I would do it (right now, right here). Actually, I would do it if it would turn me into any sort of medical first responder. I want to be the person who keeps her cool in an emergency, barking out a few terse orders and getting things under control. I’m not talking about everyday emergencies like heart attacks or broken legs. I’m talking about natural disasters, unexpected situations, and – yes – even battle fronts.

I’ve looked into Red Cross training, and they don’t offer much for “civilians” beyond CPR and babysitting training.* How do I re-set a bone after a fall in the mountains? How do I keep someone with a bullet wound from going septic if help is not immediately forthcoming? What about serious burns, or crushed limbs, or … ? Really, I have a strong survivalist streak in me (there isn’t such a large distance between the far left and the far right).

This desire is a combination of generational happenstance (as I’ve mentioned before, I was absolutely certain during my childhood and teen years spent under Reagan leadership that the Soviets were going to attack and turn our world upside-down) and my entertainment choices (although I could do without most of the interpersonal drama, I enjoy the LOST scenario**).

If the aliens attacked, a meteor hit the earth, the Day After Tomorrow arrived, or the terrorists try again, you’d want me on your team. And what a survival story we would live.

*They do offer special classes for first responders, but from my reading, it looks like it is for people who already have a job, not just interested bystanders like me.

**We’re only halfway through season 2, so don’t be commenting with info I wouldn’t know until season 4, you hear!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 November 2009 12:16 pm

    You are so lucky only being so early on into Lost! I’m jealous! There is so much good stuff to come – and do stick with it – I like it all the way through (even though season 3 isn’t as strong in comparison) but so many of my friends got frustrated and stopped watching JUST before it started to get REALLY good again.

    We’re rewatching at the mo – just started on season 4. We plan to finish up to season 5 before 6 starts again in Jan 🙂

    Anyway, I know that wasn’t the point of this post, but I got excited 🙂

  2. 7 November 2009 1:43 pm

    Emergency-vehicle alarms: I attended a Catholic elementary/middle school that was situated at the busiest intersection in Illinois outside of Chicago, so we heard a lot of sirens there. The teachers would immediate stop whatever they were doing and make the whole class recite a “Hail Mary” prayer for whomever was in need of the siren. Now, many years later and with Catholocism way WAY behind me, I still have a Pavlovian response to sirens: part of my subconscious starts chanting, “Hail Mary, full of grace…” Weird.

    First-aid course: How about something at NOLS? (http://www.nols.edu/courses/find/byskill/wildernessmedicine.shtml)

  3. 7 November 2009 1:45 pm

    “If the aliens attacked, a meteor hit the earth, the Day After Tomorrow arrived, or the terrorists try again, you’d want me on your team.”

    What do you think you’d handle the impending zombie apocalypse? 🙂

  4. three of four permalink
    7 November 2009 8:03 pm

    I’m with Marsha. It’s not about meteors; get ready for the rickin’ frickin’ zombies, woman!!

    Try an EMT class. I can try to dig out my old textbook, but the emergency/first-responder info is invaluable, even years afterword!

  5. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    8 November 2009 8:03 am

    Beth: I will remember your cheering us on when we feel things are slogging. Now I’m wondering if we should just read the episode synopses of season 3 on wikipedia, instead?

    Marsha: Thanks for the link to NOLS. Now I can dream 🙂

    And ladies, I watched Sean of the Dead, I read World War Z, and took the “How Long Would You Survive in the Zombie Apocalypse” quiz, and I got “1 year” (which was the longest option). Booyah! I’ll be just fine in the ZA. the question is: are *you*?

  6. 8 November 2009 9:25 am

    Zombies violate the Second Law of Thermodynamics.

  7. 8 November 2009 11:13 am

    One year? Impressive. The zombie quiz I took gave results in terms of how likely one was to survive the ZA, not how long. I scored a measly 39%. When the ZA hits, I am totally hanging out with you.

Leave a Reply

