Skip to content

A Day Past Full

4 November 2009

A day past full

The moon is always so big just after it rises, and right before it sets. I haven’t ever been able to move fast enough in the evening when I see a gorgeous moonrise to capture it, but when I saw its massive beauty out of the kitchen window this morning, I ran out in my PJs and snapped some pics.

I took a community photography class last Fall, and although there are a few things I remember from it, I couldn’t quite remember what we were supposed to do for moon shots. And this one is cropped, but the brightness of the moon against the darkness of the tree branches was spectacular. Unfortunately, to get a crisp shot of the craters, I had to take it at a fast shutter speed, which meant that the branches were almost invisible in the forced darkness. Do you see the craters down along the bottom right, and the belly button in the middle left? You may have to look at the large version (or even the original size) to make those out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 5 November 2009 9:55 am

    Nice shot. If you don’t mind my asking, what sort of lens were you using?

  2. 5 November 2009 1:40 pm

    Ah, a clear sky; we won’t be having any more of those for a while up here in the great soggy Pacific Northwest, on the shores of the Salish Sea…

  3. 6 November 2009 11:17 am

    That turned out very nicely! Did you use a tripod and a remote shutter release?

  4. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    6 November 2009 2:34 pm

    Wil: it’s the zoom lens that was part of the package deal with my camera: Canon 75-300 mm.

    isabelita: Indeed. Except in the winter our skies are for the most part gunmetal gray, with no crisp blue skies of winter. But you are right: we do get to see the stars every now and again.

    Marsha: That would have definitely been the better way. But my tripod was upstairs (and it’s the screw-on type — not quick insert), so I rested the camera on a lawn chair out in the yard; and I completely forgot about using the timer, so I just held my breath and pressed the button!

  5. 7 November 2009 1:02 pm

    Considering that you didn’t use a tripod and pushed the button, that’s a remarkably in-focus photo! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

