Skip to content

No Laptopping for You!

2 November 2009

As I’ve aged, and lived through a couple of frame-shakers (two big babies, of course), I realize that my spine needs regular correction. Chiropractic is useful for shifting those bones back into position, as is regular exercise. Because I haven’t been doing either of those for a couple of months, and because I’ve been spending WAY too much time at my laptop on the couch (sometimes playing too much Pariboro), my right wrist is acting up. (As it has in the past [And yes, I realize that these flare-ups happen to be noticeable when I am in the middle of a knitting project, but I don’t accept that the knitting creates the problem. –HUSH! There is no correlation. None.].)

computer-injureis1

 

I could go to the chiropractor, but right now I’m just too lazy to call and set up an appointment. So I’ve decided that what I need to do is stop stressing my body irresponsibly. No more using my laptop on my lap. I have a very nice desk setup, and I can just use my laptop up there, plugged in to a keyboard, at a desk chair, and with a foot rest at my feet.

This means that I get to work much earlier in the morning — instead of drinking a third cup of tea while reading the NYT or scanning my blog feed, I find myself at my desk, and if I happen to be up here, I might as well get cracking on whatever project is on my desk. Mondays often start up more productive than the rest of the week, however, so I’ll need to see if this trend remains consistent

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 November 2009 8:36 pm

    You are evil for posting that link to Pariboro. Of COURSE I just HAD to click on it… 🙂

  2. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    3 November 2009 7:31 am

    That game is addictive! I’ve actually played enough to beat the weekly top score a couple of times, but since I refuse to “log in”, it isn’t recorded. You’ll just have to take my word on it.

  3. 3 November 2009 8:06 am

    But the very word laptop means “sit on couch with feet up *and* be online”. I always feel like I’m getting away with something with this thing…

  4. 3 November 2009 2:58 pm

    I had to change my chair as I hung my heels from the bar and it was doing my hip no good at all. For a while I sat upright with the computer on a desk. Now, sad to say, I sit in a comfy armchair with the computer on a table in front of me. In the living room. I have no shame.

  5. 3 November 2009 4:45 pm

    I think it is a good idea to periodically reevaluate your workspace set-up. I recently raised my desktop monitor about 4″ — much better.

    P.S. My wife swears by the Alexander method. It’s helped her with periodic shoulder/arm pain.

Leave a Reply

