Skip to content

September Raspberries

17 September 2009

September raspberries

I love the September harvest of raspberries. In June, the girls are starved for the first summer fruits, which they eat right off the canes. Whatever the girls don’t eat, the birds, also happy to be able to move beyond their winter diet, harvest.

In the fall, though, the girls are sated with the fresh fruits from the market we’ve enjoyed throughout the summer months, and the birds are more excited about the sunflower seeds drying in the garden than dealing with the overgrown, prickly raspberry patch.

That’s when I take a few moments every few days to gather up the dark red berries. I collect them in small bowls, which I leave out on the counter for others to snack on; but invariably they pass by these clusters of sweet redness, and I eat them in one or two swallows, just like that.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 September 2009 9:53 am

    So pretty! Mine come in a plastic clamshell box and are never so fresh.

  2. 19 September 2009 9:06 pm

    I haven’t had raspberries in a hundred years–How wonderful!
    I remember picking them (during my youth) and my big sis would make cobbler–Yummy!

  3. 20 September 2009 6:48 pm

    Yum!

  4. cowgirl permalink
    21 September 2009 12:45 pm

    yummmm– makes me liong for those little raspberry torts we use to make all summer long as kids– with teh grahm cracker crusts…

  5. 22 September 2009 6:51 am

    Makes me think of that scene from “Walk the Line” when Johnny wakes up from detoxing, and June is there with a bowl of berries. They were the best, sweetest, most perfect thing he’d ever eaten.

Leave a Reply

