Skip to content

I’m Either 5 Months Late or 7 Months Early

14 September 2009

I have designated this week “Pantry Clean-Out Week”. Every now and again I like to use up the dry goods we have in there, and start again from fresh. I don’t feel I can make other people follow my random dicta, so I am cooking every night this week. (This may not seem like a big deal to those of you who are responsible for the cooking in your homes, but since that’s a chore that is shared among the of us, it’s a big deal to me!)

Tonight, I used up the odds and ends of several types of beans we had taking up room in there.

Today's pantry dish

Aren’t they lovely in their earth tones?

We often buy dry goods from the natural foods store, which means that the pantry was full of those flimsy plastic bags you fill at the bins. I was able to consolidate three almost-empty bags of bulghur into one almost-full one, noticed we had two different batches of sundried tomatoes in different parts of the pantry, and got all the brown rice into the two large containers designated for their use. I’ve got the ends of two bags of lentils (one brown, one red dal) which I expect will make lovely fried lentil cakes at some point this week, a bunch of black beans that I have to figure out how to use up (not too hard to do), and some spelt flour that really should be finished up (it should have been in the fridge, anyway!)

Then next week I’ll be able to buy some silly dry goods to fill all the room I’m making in there. And that will be the fun part!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 14 September 2009 6:46 pm

    Great idea! I try to do that a couple of times a year as well. Gets the creative juices flowing.

  2. 15 September 2009 8:25 am

    Gorgeous! If it wasn’t for the kidney beans in there, they’d look like shiny river stones.

  3. 15 September 2009 4:58 pm

    Lovely beans. My wife’s been soaking earth-tone seeds and red goji berries lately — a beautiful combination. The addition of water really brings out the color, doesn’t it?

  4. Cateling permalink
    15 September 2009 9:07 pm

    Mmmm, beans. I’ve gotten into the habit of making a nice batch of bean or lentil soup each weekend, portioning it out and storing in the freezer for my lunches at the office the ensuing week. I’ve been trying to make the move to reusable containers at the co-op but it’s hard for some reason to remember to take the containers to the store. One of these days, I will figure it out!

  5. 24 September 2009 8:12 pm

    i do just that from time to time – rearrange the pantry and combine things, move things, organize things, and realize what all needs to be eaten.

Leave a Reply

