Skip to content

Long-Distance Learning: Science Lab

1 September 2009

What happens if you leave a mostly drunk cup of tea out on your desk for a week?

I’m not asking you to guess, I’m asking you to do it with me. I don’t care if you have it with sugar and milk, or plain, straight out of the teapot. I don’t care if it is green, black, brown, or simply an herb tisane. Just drink most of it, but leave a little in the bottom. Put it out of the way on a corner of your desk, and then just … leave it there.

We’ll revisit this experiment a week from today. You may have to remind me, as I am now exhibiting symptoms of early-onset Alzheimer Disease.

You may think this is a flippant joke, but it is not (completely) — I have self-diagnosed based on the fact that I have found myself using the wrong word in conversation from time to time (“We have to go buy Trixie her computer” when it should be “calculator”; “Put that in your penguin” when it should be “pocket”). A little knowledge is truly a dangerous thing! So, OK, maybe I am hoping this is a joke, because, really? Memory loss at the age of 41? God, I hope not.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 1 September 2009 12:37 pm

    What? Did you say something? Who’s that speaking there? Why did I come into this room anyway?

    Tea? No thanks. I don’t want any tea. I had a coffee cup. Now where did I put that?

    Hmmph. Put that in your penguin and smoke it.

  2. 1 September 2009 6:48 pm

    I kind of like “Put that in your penguin.” Now I want to figure how to work that into conversations.

  3. cowgirl permalink
    2 September 2009 8:26 am

    OOH– i like that too– i will find a way today to say “Put that in your penguin and smoke it.”

  4. 2 September 2009 11:59 am

    Memory loss isn’t so bad–you get used to it…

  5. 2 September 2009 1:23 pm

    I’ve been getting the wrong words for decades and I’m only 33. I think you’ll be fine!

    Did Trixie try to hold you to the computer, or was she happy enough to get the calculator? 🙂

  6. Three of Four permalink
    2 September 2009 1:40 pm

    But do you make words up? Spouse does that ALL THE TIME and, while we often laugh it off, it makes me worry sometimes…

  7. 3 September 2009 7:35 am

    I think it should be “put that in your penguin and smoke it.” I’m having memory issues as well and I’m a smidge younger than you are. It stinks.

  8. split sister permalink
    6 September 2009 1:30 pm

    What do you have against penguins?
    🙂

Leave a Reply

