Skip to content

Why I Ought to be on NPR

10 August 2009

I was listening to a Fresh Air podcast from a couple of weeks ago, with Krugman and some Heritage foundation guy discussing the health care debate. At one point, early on, the conservative guy made the comment — which I have heard in many places by many conservatives — that part and parcel of a more public health care system (such as in the UK) is that there is someone else making decisions about what treatment is and is not allowed, and that Americans, who have not had to deal with this sort of thing, would find it terribly difficult to live with.

–And this is when I think I ought to be on NPR. I should be an Interjecting Commentator* on the different shows, so that when a guest tries to pull something like this, I can jump in (when the host and other guests are too polite) and shout, as in this case:

Umm, actually, yes, Americans have. They deal with it all the time. It’s called the Insurance Company, and who has not had to deal with THAT external force making ridiculous ultimatums about what treatment can and cannot be used? Don’t believe me? Well then, let’s just cross reference to a recent This American Life (The Fine Print), Act 3 (Restrictions May Apply). Go on, Mr. Conservative, listen!

*I could even have a costume of sorts I could wear. How about a silk cape with the letters IC stitched across it?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 August 2009 9:15 pm

    That would be awesome. It would be even better on TV, what with the cool costume and all.

  2. 11 August 2009 6:47 am

    I’m with you. And that costume would look *great* on the radio…..

  3. Three of Four permalink
    11 August 2009 8:07 am

    And you should get a “tra-la-LA!” musical intro just before you interject, kind of like Captain Underpants for grown-ups.

    • Cateling permalink
      11 August 2009 10:46 am

      If you are a Captain Underpants fan, have you seen Dogzilla and Kat Kong by the same author? Frickin’ hilarious!

  4. Cateling permalink
    11 August 2009 10:44 am

    Do it PLEASE! I would love to see/hear this, you would be providing a valuable public service and I could stop shouting at my radio. I am with you and cannot understand why this very simple rebuttal is not used EVERY TIME the conservative dorkheads try to pull this nonsense. Diane Rheem is better than some, but a) my perception is she doesn’t have the same clout/distribution as Terry Gross and b) she can be hard to listen to. I am glad IPR reruns her at night. She’s a new show in my market and I really like her.

  5. Cateling permalink
    11 August 2009 11:35 pm

    Diane Rheem had some fellow on her show today (I heard the replay this evening) who made your argument, although not as forcefully as one might have hoped for. Wimpy mealy-mouthed boy. I was thinking on the cape idea, and although I think it’s a delightful one I think the “IC” would be ill-advised because it may cause folks to think you were borrowing the cape of your illustrious Consort. Perhaps we can come up with a snazzy lightning bolt or other graphic design.

  6. 12 August 2009 3:46 pm

    Let me know when the vote happens and I’ll be sure to register in plenty of time!

Leave a Reply

