Skip to content

Too Sneaky For My Own Good

22 July 2009

A few months ago, I was thrilled when I came across a fabulous sale on organic cotton towels.

Plush organic towels

My thrill was two-fold: First, we had decided to only purchase organic cotton towels, sheets, etc., — there are too many pesticides used on conventional cotton, and it is a ridiculously water-intensive crop. Since organic cotton is much more expensive than conventional cotton, we are replacing as things get worn out; but this sale allowed me to purchase enough towels for each of us to have two towels in rotation. Second, they had enough colors that I could get four different colors: each person would pick a color, and those would be their towels — and each person would be responsible for washing their own towels. You see, the girls had gotten in the habit of pulling a clean towel out of the closet if the towels on the rack were damp. This meant that, come laundry day, I would find myself with an enormous pile of towels to launder. The girls have been responsible for their own laundry for at least two years, and now I wouldn’t have to wash their towels, either!

Any new habit takes a while to break in, and the girls would forget to bring their towel to the bathroom before showering (our 1915-era bathroom is not large enough to keep everyone’s towels in there), so they’d use one of ours but then put our second, extra towel on the rack, which only meant that once again I was laundering more than two bath towels per week (I do the Consort’s laundry with mine, ’cause I’m sweet like that).

“Aha!,” I thought. “If I put our extra towels somewhere other than the regular towel shelf in the closet, then the girls will learn not to ‘borrow’ our towels when showering. What a genius idea!”

And it was a genius idea. (That, or they were starting to remember to bring down their own towel, as I knew they eventually would.)

But, as the title of this post implies, it was a bit too genius. We left on our 3-week vacation, and now, I can’t for the life of me remember where I stashed the Consort’s and my second set! Our closet space is minimal, and we have no built-in storage upstairs by the bathroom. I’ve checked in the places I can think of, but those two extra towels are not to be found.

Darn it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 July 2009 3:16 am

    Excuse me chortling – that is very funny. My solution, I’m afraid, would have been to pinch a towel out of one of the girls’ rooms and use that instead of my own, in retaliation.

    Have you checked under the bed? You might have unfolded the towels and laid them flat somewhere. Or is there a suitcase you didn’t take on vacation? It has to be reasonably convenient as you’d need to get at them regularly.

  2. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    28 July 2009 6:48 pm

    Chortle all you like, Z. I deserve it. 😉

Leave a Reply

