Skip to content

One Local Summer: Week 7

20 July 2009

It has been unseasonable cool here in Iowa this July, which is lovely for me (the anti-queen of humidity). It also means that it isn’t hard to throw together a bunch of local items into a soup.

Local onions and garlic from our garden were sauteed in oil. I harvested fennel and oregano from the garden,

OLS Week 7 : Fennel and oregano
(I took the picture after I had chopped up and added the fennel bulb to the soup)

And added it with broth, wine, and a can of organic tomatoes (none of which was local, but they were in my pantry).

Near the end of the cooking, I threw in some orzo (pantry) and parsley. Lots and lots of garden parsley:

OLS Week 7 : Parsley

Another perk of cool weather is that it doesn’t seem suicidal to make homemade bread. So I did:

OLS Week 7 : Sourdough bread

After ladling out the soup, I added some crumbled, local feta (from the Dairy Air farm, *chuckle, chuckle*) and some minced fennel sprigs.

OLS Week 7 : Mediterranean soup

Then, we sat out on the porch and enjoyed our meal.

OLS Week 7 : Evening meal

The recipe author notes that the soup is reminiscent of bouillabaisse. I think it’s the combination of the fennel and the feta which does it, even though neither of those ingredients are found in the fish version. As someone who hasn’t had real bouillabaisse in at least 15 years, I have to say: I do believe the recipe is correct!

The Consort is intrigued by One Local Summer, and he says he plans to have a (more) local meal for us later this week. We shall see…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 22 July 2009 8:01 am

    Lovely! But I also especially love the idea of being an “anti-queen”. I’m gonna use that….

  2. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    22 July 2009 6:15 pm

    You’re welcome to it, Ellie! We can all be anti-queens 🙂

  3. 23 July 2009 6:18 am

    Homemade bread…mmmmmm. That is one of the best parts of the week/day I think. Your loaves came out so well and nicely rounded – mine are always like misshapen continents 😀
    More and more people seem to be commenting on using fennel in soups – I’ve never done that, but it looks like something to try. Does it mix well with many different veg?

  4. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    23 July 2009 7:40 am

    It sure does! It’s crispy like celery, and it’s got that licorice-y aroma. It plays well with others. 😉

Leave a Reply

