Skip to content

The Drink That Eats Like A Meal!

9 June 2009

It’s mango season, and the Consort has a sweet spot for mangoes, so we usually get a few even though they come loaded with food miles. The drinks book we have has a couple of recipes that are buttermilk-based, which I thought sounded neat, so I decided  their mango smoothie would be drink recipe experiment #3 for us.

I bought some buttermilk from a local dairy, and used mint from the garden (remind me to show you pictures of our Jurassic-style mint plants!).

Whir up some buttermilk, milk, yogurt, mango, mint leaves, honey, and ice cubes, and serve.

Mango smoothie, 1st try
“I look delicious, but I’m not.”

Not so good. I thought it was too thin, and the 3 other testers thought the mint was overpowering (overpowering, my foot! There were 4 little leaves in the blender — that comes out to the equivalent of one mint leaf each!). That’s easy to tally. Final score: –4.

I realized, after a Google* search for “buttermilk drink”** that the reason a buttermilk drink sounded like a good idea was this: that’s how lassi is made — you know, that refreshing drink you get when you eat out at an Indian restaurant. If you’ve never had one, I don’t want to hear about it. It’s one of the perks of eating Indian food!

I made some after dinner tonight. Of course, I was lazy and didn’t look up any of the recipes I found online the other day. So I just poured some buttermilk into the blender, dropped in 2 mangoes’ worth of flesh, added 2 tablespoons of honey, some cardamom, coriander, cloves, and ground ginger, and dropped in a large handful of ice cubes. Whir it up and pour (more accurately, “plop”) into glasses.

Mango lassi, the recipe-less edition
A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

There were only 3 of us at home tonight, but we all liked it. The only change I would make next time (and there will be a next time) will be to substitute milk for a portion of the buttermilk; mangoes are thick, buttermilk is thick, and I think a little balance with some thin would be a good idea. Final score: +3.

How the heck does one capture thickness??
Do you notice the thickness?

*No WAY you’ll ever catch me “binging”. But then, I think most things Microsoft does is lame.
**I had lots of buttermilk left, so had to find some way to use it up!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 June 2009 7:09 am

    Mangoes are my favorite. Buttermilk is not.

  2. cowgirl permalink
    10 June 2009 8:06 am

    yeah– i am not a big fan of buttermilk either, but i am guessing i’d like it a lot if it were replaced with yogurt & regular milk 🙂

  3. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    10 June 2009 8:56 pm

    Ladies, ladies! I agree that the factory-processed buttermilk is yuck in a carton. But if you get cultured buttermilk from a local dairy (mine was 2% fat), then it is thick, creamy, and delicious. But yep, you can certainly use a milk and yogurt combo…

Leave a Reply

