Skip to content

Dear Consort: The garden is blooming

1 June 2009

Dear Consort,

The garden is blooming! This has been a lovely weekend — the temperature was warm but not muggy, the sun was out, and I spent most of each day out in the backyard. I’m sure you’re having a good time out in DC (no yard work, among other perks), but this is what’s happening here:

I saw these lovely purple flowers, reminiscent of peas, near the Druid Circle:

Prairie pea

When I showed them to Trixie, and told her I bet they were in the pea family, she replied, “Yeah, Dad said he planted some Prairie Peas over there.” So, there you go. Prairie Peas.

The gooseberries are plumping up nicely:

Gooseberries

These fuschia flowers are peeking up near the birdbath:

?Bachelor's buttons?

Bachelor’s buttons? I thought ours were blue, though. (I especially like the spiky-ness of the buds before they bloom.)

And look! Baby plums:

Baby plums

They’re sneaky — being the same color as the leaves, they’re hard to see; I worried that we wouldn’t have a good crop this year. I have no idea why I’m so obsessed with the plums. They aren’t even my favorite stone fruit. But I love them!

You already know that the chickens were “lost” for a while last night, so I won’t rehash that unpleasantness. Let’s focus on the lovely garden pictures instead.

See you soon!

Imperatrix

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 June 2009 6:45 pm

    I’m in love with everything growing everywhere. I touch and poke and pick and smell…….. and smile.

  2. 2 June 2009 9:17 pm

    Thanks for this lovely post, PI!!! Too bad I didn’t come to look until just now. I am impressed that Trixie remembered the comment about the prairie peas–I’m never entirely sure if she’s paying attention when I tell her such things. The little flowers are the remnants of what used to be a whole slew of flowers in an arc in front of the birdbath, but now there are only a couple left. That’s OK, because they were originally just supposed to be annuals, but I had hoped that they would proliferate a bit more instead of just slowly dying out. Anyway, thanks again! See you tomorrow!!!

  3. 2 June 2009 9:19 pm

    Oh, and I’m pretty sure that we’re going to be totally sick of bachelors buttons by the end of the summer. There are now some in pretty much ever spot in the garden. I imagine they’ll be blooming in a few weeks.

  4. Cateling permalink
    3 June 2009 10:38 am

    I love your prairie peas! I grew up with sweet peas in my parents’ garden, but they don’t like our hot humidity so they’re hard (for me) to grow here. I would love to know where you got the seeds (local? mail order) so I can give them a go next year.

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      7 June 2009 10:37 am

      The Consort bought it from someone at the farmers market. We’ll send you seeds if ours can self-pollinate.

  5. 7 June 2009 8:39 am

    Prairie Peas? I have some growing that Momo gave me. She transplanted them from my grandmother’s house before it was sold after her death 25 years ago. When I returned to Virginia, of course she felt I needed plants that were my grandmothers’.

    When I returned from Texas, the garden had shot up and the lilies are blooming. And every bush needs trimming…

    • Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
      7 June 2009 10:38 am

      Now those are REAL heirloom plant you have there. What a lovely memory that returns every year.

Leave a Reply

