Skip to content

One Local Summer Challenge, 2009

22 May 2009

I’m doing it again: The One Local Summer Challenge. It’s simple. You pledge to make one meal a week using locally produced ingredients (except for oil, salt and pepper, and spices) and record it on your blog.

I’m excited because, being back in Zone 5 here in Iowa, I expect it will be MUCH easier than last summer when we were in New Hampshire (Zone 4). But I had fun trying last year, remember?

There’s still time to sign up — you have until May 30 to do so. I seem to recall last year that there were international participants, so even if you aren’t in the US, you’re welcome to join. And it isn’t a hardnosed challenge; if you can’t do it one week, that’s OK. And if none of your meals are completely local, that’s OK too. As long as you give it a fair shot.

Anybody else in?

OLS2009

Jump aboard and join me!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. split sister permalink
    23 May 2009 7:50 am

    Since I don’t have a blog I can-t really participate, but we just hit our FM today(evey Saturday 8-12) and got some delicious cucumbers, fragrant basil and cilantro, crispy lettuce, and a gorgeous quart of snap peas! Yum!

  2. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    23 May 2009 10:45 am

    You don’t actually need a blog! Here’s what the confirmation email says:

    “1. Every week you post an update to your own blog about your One Local Summer meal. If you don’t have a blog, that’s OK – you’ll just have to email your update (and photos, if you’d like) to the coordinator for your region.”

    See? And if you wanted, you could email me the info and I could post it here. Snap peas rarely make it to a meal at our house — we just rinse them and snack on them throughout the day. 🙂

  3. Cateling permalink
    23 May 2009 8:22 pm

    Hey there, I really like how you’ve redecorated the place! I think I might have to give the challenge a go. I had a quasi-local BLT from ingredients I picked up at the farmer’s market last weekend (the bread was from the store, and the mayo, but I would count pre-existing condiments as spices).

  4. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    25 May 2009 8:32 am

    Thank you! I hope to change out the header picture (and probably color scheme) every few weeks. We’ll see how long that plan lasts. Yes, do join in OLS. And I agree that your BLT would count as local — people often forget to think of their meat as local, and it’s so important to support small farmers of ALL stripes. 🙂

  5. 25 May 2009 9:38 am

    First of all, I’m in. I may not post about it, but I’ll do it.
    Second of all, it looks nice around here! Did you paint or something….?

Leave a Reply

