Skip to content

I Love This

8 May 2009

We’re off camping this afternoon, for one of our quickie 24-hour campouts (how I wish we could head out for longer, sometimes!). Then we’re coming home to host a dinner for two of the Consort’s students (both graduated, got married, coming back for a visit). So, it will be a busy weekend.

 For a while I’ve wanted to share the Official White House Photostream on Flickr. I’m a contact, and you can be, too!

Every day, you can see captures from the President’s meetings.

I can’t tell you how often I get butterflies when I see a thinking man in the White House. Such hope for everyone in that!

I’m sure many of the photographs are, hmmm, perhaps selected for their pseudo-intimacy. But these people aren’t actors, so I like to think the feelings are genuine. They’re just fun to see, don’t you think? (And sometimes the comments are pretty entertaining, too.)

So if you have a Flickr account, go ahead and make this stream one of your contacts. Have fun!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 9 May 2009 7:35 am

    Thanks for the heads-up on the White House photostream–what a neat idea!

    Have a wonderful camping weekend! I hope you’ll tell us about it when you get back!

  2. 11 May 2009 6:48 am

    How absolutely wonderful. I love the candid shots.

  3. 11 May 2009 7:14 pm

    What fun! I popped over here on a whim, and found this post. I already have Pete Souza’s Official White House Photostream on my contacts list.
    Isn’t it just the best?

  4. 13 May 2009 6:38 am

    I’d rather look at pictures of Bush. At least I knew he was a snake and he smirked often enough to prove it. This one does indeed LOOK different but does nothing SIGNIFICANTLY different (http://www.truthdig.com/report/item/20090503_buying_brand_obama/) and now 130 Afghans have died in the rubble of their own homes in Obama’s War. I don’t understand what you see in this man.

  5. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    13 May 2009 11:11 am

    Hello, Leslie! I love when random blog visits turn out fun. Yes, I really do love that photostream. 🙂

    Marcy, I’m sorry that you are feeling so frustrated. I can understand the hope that all this military aggressiveness would just go away under Obama, but the Taliban was only made stronger by 8 years of Bush, and that won’t just disappear if we simply leave (see: current situation in Pakistan). Innocent people are being killed by the Taliban, too, and in terrible terrible ways. I’m not excusing Obama’s people, but, just as I disagree with a friend who didn’t like the positive spin of the recent unemployment numbers (even if they are still high, they are increasing more slowly than in quarters past), I have to disagree that because Obama was not able to convert the military plan to Gandhi-like levels means he is a failure. Thanks for the link, but their diatribe sounds very similar to FoxNews diatribes, and I really don’t like either side offering opinion as news.

  6. 14 May 2009 8:14 am

    Oh my. I’m not so much frustrated as dismayed how aptly you and others demonstrate Hedges’ point. If you can compare people of conscience like Chris Hedges to the kind of shills who I understand work for Fox News, and if you believe the United States can militarily control the Taliban, then, my dear, I won’t make any further attempts to disabuse you of your illusions.

  7. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    14 May 2009 8:44 am

    I’m not sure why I seem to have made you so angry so quickly, Marcy. I’m curious, though, who you think would have dealt with the current situation differently? It seemed to me that all the other Democrats running for president were much more hawkish than Obama. (I’m really curious, not just sniping for more argument.)

  8. 22 May 2009 3:52 pm

    Very cool. I love the Official White House Photostream!

Leave a Reply

