Skip to content

Another Boring Post

6 May 2009

I go through phases where I question the necessity for this blog. These phases happen to strike either after I have intensely blogged (at the end of NaBloPoMo, after 31 consecutive days of posting) or after I have been away for a while (Digital Detox Week). My life is rather boring right now: Do you really want to know that I still am surprised at the smoothness and tautness when I feel my sides and hips, that the weight loss is continuing apace, and that I’m still exercising 4-5 times per week? Are the books I read this year of interest to anyone but me? Have you felt the lack of kid blogging as much as I have (they’re getting older, I feel I shouldn’t blog about their doings so much, but often that’s the source of entertainment for me)? Do you really need to see another chicken picture, seeing as I spend most of my free time on these spring days out back hanging out with these two pea-brains?

Well, OK, twist my arm why don’t you.

The chickens are not very adventurous in their time outdoors. They like hanging out under the back porch, where we have a pile of pine needles that make for comfy resting, and they like to run like the dickens to the snowball bush about 4 feet away from the porch. And that’s about it. We can leave them out back for 45 minutes, and you’ll still find them in that general vicinity.

The other day, I decided to see how hard it would be to teach them that they could actually climb the porch steps. When I heard them pecking around near the steps, I made my move.

Climbing stairs: Ground zero

I filled a little bowl with some feed, and placed it on a step.

Climbing stairs: Step 1: One step ahead

After they had eaten a bit, I’d move the bowl to the far back of the stair, providing them with the dilemma: stay safe or risk life and limb for more food?

Climbing stairs: Step 2: Greed always wins

As I hoped it would, greed won out, step by step. Until they found themselves at the summit.

Climbing stairs: Step 3: The summit!

Once they made it up there, they realized there were all sorts of things to explore.

Climbing stairs: Step 4: Checking out the new surroundings

They had a blast up there, although eventually I had to shoo them down off the porch. Because, you see, I had forgotten that wherever you allow chickens, you will find this:

Climbing stairs: Uh oh

Uh oh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 May 2009 5:19 pm

    Eh, what’s a little chicken poop when you can watch your fowl at play on the porch?

  2. Cateling permalink
    6 May 2009 8:17 pm

    I was wondering why you would want chicken poop on your porch. My dad grew up on a farm, and his family raised chickens. One of his chores was to shovel the chicken poop. My dad does not have a very favorable view of chickens. 🙂

  3. 7 May 2009 7:06 am

    Yes. The books you read are of interest to me. I’m always looking for book recommendations.

  4. 7 May 2009 1:23 pm

    I love reading your blog. I hope you don’t stop writing it.

    We can never have too many chicken photos. Or chicken poop photos, either. 🙂

  5. 7 May 2009 3:21 pm

    Wow. That was really boring. 😉

    Actually, chickens — and your blog — are pretty interesting. Keep on keepin’ on…

Leave a Reply

