Skip to content

I Actually Finished a Knitting Project

9 April 2009

Back in September, I started a knitting project. One for me. I tend to stay away from adult-sized sweaters because they are so big — they take a lot of yarn and a lot of time. It’s been “almost done” ( = one more inch of length and weave in ends) since the end of December. The end of December! In the end, I don’t like it very much. I suppose I’ll finish it eventually, but I needed to get my knitting mojo back. So, after browsing the knitting blogs I follow, I decided to make a small lace scarf: Ishbel. It was cheap (only £3 [$4.50]), and fast. It comes in two sizes: shawl size or neck scarf size. Since this project was mainly to get me liking knitting again, I went with the smaller size. (Also, I don’t have many reasons to wear a shawl, in my day-to-day life.)

It’s knit in sock yarn, so the lace is not as dainty as most lacework.

Ishbel blocking

I can’t remember the name of the sock yarn! Isn’t that bad of me? And Lord knows why I chose spring colors, since one doesn’t normally wear a scarf once it warms up.

I love how it came out.

Ishbel on shoulders

This is my first completed lace project, and I wasn’t sure how well my points would come out. But blocking is a miracle-worker.

Ishbel in the sun

Nice, (mostly) even points. Pretty colorway.

Ishbel points, with pet feet

And it looks pretty with my new raincoat.

Serious model

(Not that I’ll be wearing it with my raincoat, because, hello? it’s springtime.) This is a perfect first lace project for anyone, the pattern is simple and easy to follow, working with sock yarn isn’t as stressful as working with laceweight yarn, since you knit this with size 6 needles you aren’t streesing over the teeny tiny needle points, and it completes quickly, before you lose interest.

Did this project succeed in getting my mojo back? Well, I did start a second one yesterday.

Ishbel #2

(Again with the crazy color choices!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 9 April 2009 5:19 pm

    Beautiful!

  2. Cateling permalink
    10 April 2009 8:05 am

    Lovely! Thanks for posting about this project!

  3. Three of Four permalink
    10 April 2009 9:31 am

    So pretty! Even if it’s too warm during the day, it could be a very useful evening accessory during the spring.

  4. 10 April 2009 1:21 pm

    It looks great! So who’s getting the second one you knit?

  5. 11 April 2009 7:51 am

    THAT is lovely. I’m incredibly impressed.

  6. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    14 April 2009 1:04 pm

    Thank you everyone! I’m not sure who’s getting the second one. In fact, I’m not sure who’s getting the first one. These might make good gifts…

Leave a Reply

