Skip to content

Books That Don’t Make the Cut

25 March 2009

I used to finish every book I started, good or bad. (Ah, the luxury of youth and its limitless free time!)

Now, I find that my time is too precious to waste on something that doesn’t entertain/enlighten/please me, and although I always feel a bit naughty when I toss a book aside (not literally! I would never do that!), it doesn’t stop me from doing it.

I’m running into a problem with my Reading List for 2009. You see, it may look like I’m falling behind — well, it wouldn’t to *you* because although I stated that I wanted to read better books this year, I only initimated* to myself, and that only in a whisper, that a book a week seems like a nice balanced number to read in a year — but I happen to have fallen on a couple of clunkers lately.

I wonder if I ought to keep track of these in a sub-list of my Books Read list. Or would that be too persnickety? I don’t like to bash someone else’s work (since they actually sat down and wrote the thing, whereas I’m still only telling myself stories in my head). Without linking to anything, I can warn you that Gomorrah by Roberto Saviano is terribly written (or at least terribly translated, but I really think it’s the author who’s the problem), with multiply redundant descriptions and poorly structured exposition. Don’t bother.

I also just put aside Susan Choi’s A Person of Interest. This one isn’t so bad but its main character is just not very likeable, and with a few better books that I requested from the library ready for me to check out, I returned it. I may come back to it, particularly if someone I know tells me they liked it. (Anybody?)

*Did you know that the two definitions of intimate (v.) are as follows:
1 : to make known especially publicly or formally : announce
2 : to communicate delicately and indirectly : hint
How completely useless is that? (And by the way, I have only seen it being used as in definition 2).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. KathyR permalink
    25 March 2009 8:21 pm

    Ooh, I hate that. When I’ve committed 100 or 200 pages to something and just don’t like it enough to persevere. Those pages cost a lot more (time, effort, attention, concentration) than 400 wonderful pages. It feels like you should still get credit for them somehow, even if you didn’t finish the book.

  2. 26 March 2009 6:47 am

    I’ve put one book down in 2009, too. I hated to do it, but hated worse spending time on something not well-written.

    I put them on the list anyway. Because you know what? Why the hell not.

  3. 26 March 2009 1:41 pm

    I’m impressed. I’m lucky if I read a book every two or three weeks.

    And I feel a little guilty too if I ditch a book…I wonder why that is? Maybe a nagging sense that I’m not trying hard enough? (But then who ever said reading was supposed to be difficult?)

  4. 28 March 2009 2:13 am

    I do it all the time. Short attention span here. If you don’t nab me in a couple chapters, tops, you’re going in the pile.

Leave a Reply

