Skip to content

Use your Noggin

19 March 2009

You wear a helmet when you ride your bike.
You wear a helmet when you ride a horse English style.
You wear a helmet when you play hockey, go rollerblading, or ride a motorcycle.

Of course you should wear a helmet when you ski.

You bet your bottom dollar I will bring this up next time the girls and the Consort go skiing. I imagine he’ll give me a hard time. I know the girls will.

Tough shit.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. isabelita permalink
    19 March 2009 7:20 pm

    I attempted to learn how to ski at about age 41 or 42, but I never wore one, or saw anybody wearing a helmet at the several ski areas we visited as a family. Our kid never wore one, skiing or snowboarding.
    I wear bike helmets and climbing helmets. I shall never attempt to downhill ski again, but if I did, I surely would wear one…

  2. Cateling permalink
    20 March 2009 8:06 pm

    Our family doctor says you should always wear a helmet when you are going faster than you can run, unless you are wearing a seatbelt, in which case it is OK to leave off the helmet. I think that’s pretty sensible advice, and easy enough to communicate to the most ornery among us.

  3. 23 March 2009 6:18 am

    Richardson’s case demonstrated the two biggest frustrations that my husband has complained about for years working Ski Patrol: skiers not wearing helmets AND not getting follow-up medical treatment when it’s recommended.

  4. 23 March 2009 7:37 am

    I know, I know. But it was the bunny slope. It’s just hard to fathom…

  5. Three of Four permalink
    23 March 2009 2:13 pm

    Actually, I’m the last one in the family not to have a ski helmet. It was required for the Hobbit & Princess before they were allowed to start ski school, and spouse thought it would be safer in general (given his tendency to push limits.. ahem). Since I haven’t been on many trips lately, we’ve not yet had a chance to get me one. I will definitely be trying some on before our next outing, though!

  6. 25 March 2009 4:41 pm

    But I heard that helmets were for sissies…

Leave a Reply

