Skip to content

“I had a dream last night…

19 February 2009

…’cause it looked just like a dream”*

I’ve always had rather vibrant dream snippets — wisps of dreams that I could remember for a day or two; sometimes they linger for a week. Last night, I had one that is still fresh 12 hours later, so I’m writing it down for all of you. (I don’t think there are any deep messages, just vivid experiences.)

###############################

For some reason, I had some time to waste, and decided to stop in this little independent bookstore/knick-knack shop. It was a narrow shop, with a large dirty pane window at the front, and tall bookshelves along the walls, a center island of bookshelves provided additional space for the books and the baskets of random stuff. After browsing for a while, the owner (a be-cardiganed lady with wild and permy hair) suggested I might want to take a bath and read a book. Of course! What a lovely idea!

As she went to prepare the bath, I took out my cellphone and called my brother-in-law, who always has great book recommendations (this is true In Real Life). He suggested I look for a book titled Mountain. It must have been my lucky day, because there was a copy of this book right there in the shop.

So I grabbed the (hardcover) book, walked to the front of the shop, undressed right by the cash register (leaving my clothes in a pile right by the shopkeeper’s feet — how rude!), and slipped into the hot water filling a claw-foot tub. The tub had one narrow end tucked under the bookshelf nearest the front of the shop (on the side away from the door, but just under the big window); unfortunately, the only thing that this odd set-up “hid” were my feet… Not that anyone seemed at all perturbed about my nakedness (I did feel a chill before I entered the tub — I knew I was naked, at least, but I wasn’t worried about it).

I settled in, sinking everything except my head and my hands under the water, then opened my book. On the cover page I read:

MOUNTAIN

M. C. Hammer

###############################

Don’t bother trying to get meaning out of this. There just isn’t anything there. (Although I did do a quick Google search this morning, to see if perhaps there had been a second, less famous, MC Hammer, one more driven to literary, rather than rap, pursuits. No such luck.)

*A long-time favorite song of mine.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 February 2009 8:32 pm

    🙂

  2. 19 February 2009 8:37 pm

    Aw, phooey. My entire comment didn’t show up. Here it is again:

    *really wants to know what the rest of the book says*

  3. 19 February 2009 11:07 pm

    Haha! That’s great! I especially liked the fact that in your dream you hid your feet.

  4. cowgirl permalink
    20 February 2009 11:24 am

    Can’t Touch this…

  5. 20 February 2009 12:50 pm

    I had “can’t touch this” in mind when I saw cowgirl’s comment. Drat!

    The song (I had a dream last night) is on my all-time favorite movie soundtrack, Baz Luhrman’s Romeo & Juliet.

  6. split sister permalink
    20 February 2009 2:00 pm

    Ha! If the BIL you are referring to is my spouse the MC Hammer connection could be because he’s such an 80s music fan!

  7. 21 February 2009 7:08 am

    I rarely find myself literally laughing out loud, but the MC Hammer bit just made me lose it. Thanks, PI! Well played!

Leave a Reply

