Skip to content

Too Random For Pithy Title

10 February 2009

Well, goodness. Again, almost a week without a post. But that’s OK. That just means I have a random post chock-full of topics, topics, topics. Which I will share with you now rather than attempt to post each one individually, because that only leads to more procrastination, and some topics that I just drop due to their staleness.

USING THE EYES FOR MORE THAN SURFING

One reason I haven’t been blogging as much is that I am making time for reading every day (in between the Internet surfing, the knitting [slooooooowly], the online gaming, and the Internet surfing [sic]). Yes, I am always reading, but in the past few years I had fallen into a rut of reading pulpy SFF fiction (which is a fine thing to do). I had lost that joie de lire you get from finishing a nice and meaty (or at least, more meaty than the newest take on vampire-in-everyday-life) book. If you check in on the Books Read 2009 tab at the top of the page, you’ll notice that I’m keeping up on tracking the books I am reading. Any suggestions are always welcome. As are any other book-related comments.

STARTING THE EMBALMENT EARLY

In the past week, I have joined the masses of modern-day older people (yes, at the ripe old age of 41 [I had to put that in in case someone was taking me seriously about my elderliness]). First, it seems that the Pill alone was not doing a good job of minimizing hormone imbalance, so the doctor gave me something else. Now I have a morning pill organizer (perhaps I exaggerate — it’s the Pill container) and an evening pill organizer (half of each day’s intake is an iron pill; so again, perhaps I exaggerate). To top it all, I am currently on a 7-day scrip for prescription-strength anti-inflammatory (see next section).

SABOTAGING MY OWN SELF

It seems I have twinged my elbow. Yesterday I woke up with terrible numbness and pins and needles in my right forearm. I tried to be brave and “let it work itself out”. That lasted all of two hours; and then I went to the doctor. She thinks I have ulnar neuropathy (don’t worry: big name, small deal). So I came home with an elbow brace and an NSAID. I think this may be due to the exercise program I’ve started; I couldn’t find my 2-lb weights (yes, I am a big muscle-mass wuss) last week, so did the upper body exercises with 5-lb weights. And now my body is sabotaging itself. Last year, I fell on the ice and couldn’t continue with my plan of swimming several times a week. This time, I am ignoring my perfidious body, and will continue the regimen –no giving in to the guerilla warfare of the flab!

BEING AT ODDS WITH THE NATURAL WORLD

It has warmed up tremendously in the past week. Like, in the balmy 50s. Everybody is thrilled, and enjoying the sun and warmth and disappearing snow. Except for me. I know, only crazy people resent the warmer weather, so excuse my complete and utter non-normalness. But I much prefer the colds of deepest darkest winter to ucky mucky spring. Or hot and humid summer. I can handle autumn, but that’s only because I know winter is just around the corner.

Needless to say, I am thrilled that snow is predicted for Friday. Things are looking up!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Three of Four permalink
    10 February 2009 6:24 pm

    Sigh. I’m with you on the winter. Maybe it’s because we really haven’t had much of one, but I resent our warm snap, too.

    Can’t wait to click over & see what you are reading. Don’t knock the SFF, though! I’m finding that a perfect escape from craptastic reality these days.

  2. 10 February 2009 9:12 pm

    I’m trying to do more reading, too, this year! I’m curious to know what online gaming you are doing. I know yours is a WoW family, but I didn’t know that you played, too…

  3. 11 February 2009 12:17 pm

    If we don’t have little warm snaps that say: “Check it out, spring is on its way!” then how would Nature ever get procrastinators like me to order seeds? Half the gardens in the country would be planted in July.

    I think my favorite season is that time between seasons, when you start to think about all of the cool stuff that’s coming up soon that you haven’t had or done in 9 months! Right now? I’m 100% loving winterspring. But fallwinter was just as great.

  4. KathyR permalink
    11 February 2009 1:55 pm

    I am reading more and blogging less. Is it possible to blog less than not at all? Why, yes. Yes it is.

    I have also rolled over and let the flab win. Pass the guacamole.

    I have found the One True Path and, oddly enough, it is the one of Least Resistance!

  5. Cateling permalink
    11 February 2009 3:06 pm

    I live in constant fear that our recent balmy 50’s weather will trick my daffys into sending up shoots that will perish in the later snows. I am not fond of the mud, but I accept it as a harbinger of spring and vastly prefer it to the snow.

    I’m looking forward to hearing what IC and the rest of you decide to plant in your garden this year!

  6. 12 February 2009 9:25 am

    Well, good for you. I’m reading tons, too, but I hate winter. Different reasons, same positive outcome!

  7. 18 February 2009 1:45 am

    You may be sabotaging your iron with the NSAIDs–I read something about that recently.

    And you do know about taking them with oj or other vit C and not calcium at the same time, right? Also the tannins in tea and coffee = bad iron absorption. Wine too, sadly.

  8. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    19 February 2009 4:48 pm

    Thanks for the info about the NSAIDs. i only took the pills for 2 days because the buzzing pain is not one I want to cover up — it has gotten better over the course of the week, and I plan to see a chiropractor as soon as my workload permits (next week, I hope!)

    I did know about iron and tannins. I usually take my pill right before bed. And since I have curtailed my drinking because of the re-balancing pill, I have wine tannins in me much less often than usually.

Leave a Reply

