Skip to content

The Year of Becoming and Returning

6 January 2009

Sheesh, Ellie said my last post had enough info in it for several posts, and notice that I haven’t written anything in the last week. Ellie, you were right!

I suppose it’s time to put my list of resolutions out here. So here we go:

I will lose weight. I don’t know how much, and I don’t really care. According to Wii Fit, I need to lose 40 pounds to cross over to the “Normal” range of BMI (I’m no longer in the “Obese” range, but by this >-< much [also, don’t gasp too loud — I am tall, you know]). Can I just say: “Hah!” Really what I want is to get back to normal-sized clothes. I live in that no-man’s land of being just over the edge into Lane Bryant territory, but not really fitting in most of their cuts, either (plus some of their stuff is skanky and poorly made; sorry, but it’s true). I don’t like shopping, and I enjoy shopping at consignment stores, but I would have much more choice if I was back into size 14s. I will NOT post a before picture until I have an after picture. OK, there’s this one:

Self Portrait 1

… but I’m pretty good at the cropping of the parts I don’t like, see?

I will spend at least 30 minutes outside every day. When your commute entails walking up the stairs from the living room into the office, and your children are old enough to walk to school alone, you may find many days pass without your getting any sun unfiltered by windows.

I will find balance in myself. I’ve begun the 8-week Massachusetts Stress Reduction Clinic program, as detailed in Full Catastrophe Living (thank you Marcy for turning me on to this!). Once I’ve got this mastered, and meditation has become a part of my daily routine, I’ll focus on physical activity, so I don’t expect any weight loss until the spring.

I will submit a story. Somewhere, somehow. Yes, I will.

Oh, and I will paint all the closets in the house. It needs to be done, and will make a world of difference.

Now that you know, I’ve got accountability. Thanks!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 January 2009 11:20 pm

    Honey, if you were ever obese, then medical science hasn’t invented a term for my size yet. I’ve got and even shorter commute than you do, and I’ve been doing it for 14 years. Hey … maybe that’s what my problem is, eh? 😉

  2. 6 January 2009 11:21 pm

    Sigh. That should’ve read: “I’ve got an even shorter …”

  3. 7 January 2009 7:57 am

    Jeebers. American sizes confuzzle me. You are purdy, though!

  4. 7 January 2009 8:40 am

    You’re very good at cropping–you certainly don’t look anywhere near obese! But I hear you about the weight loss–I, too, have vowed to get in shape. I’m 2 weeks into yoga!
    Since I live in a house built in the late 1800s, I wish I had closets to paint.

  5. 7 January 2009 10:41 am

    I need to do the “spend 30 minutes outside” thing too – it’s just that somedays bundling up Moira to go out in the cold and snow seems like more trouble than it is worth (especially when it is -30oC). Still, I know that I need to leave the house everyday and so does she.

  6. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    7 January 2009 1:43 pm

    Katharine: Yep, but the BMI cut-off is 30. So when I’m at 30.08, that little Wii guy says “that’s obese!” and when I’m at 29.98 he says, “that’s overweight!”

    Beth: You’re sweet to say so. Yeah, I don’t know why US vs UK is one size off! “Regular” sizes go from zero to 14. Above that is considered “Woman” sizes. I consider my body shape balanced, but that means I’ve got a large top to go with those hips. And I really really really don’t like that large top. At all.

    MizMell: Yoga sounds great! I hope you’re enjoying it. I may visit my local yoga place later in the winter, I think!

    Melanie: The problem with the midwest (And probably your part of Canada, too) is that so many days are just washed out and gray. Getting outside gives me a bit of real light, even if it is gray with gray undertones.

  7. 7 January 2009 5:22 pm

    Tell the little Wii guy to bite you. You look good to me.

    As for the closets, shut the doors.

  8. Cateling permalink
    7 January 2009 7:27 pm

    Painting the closets? People do that?

    I’ve never lived in a house that was more than 30-40 years old at the time I was living in it, but I’ve never even heard of anyone painting the insides of their closets. I am most intrigued! Will you paint them white? Or a bright color that surprises you when you open the door? What color are they now that offends you so?

  9. Three of Four permalink
    8 January 2009 8:27 am

    Oooh! I like Cateling’s idea for surprising color inside the closets. Maybe you could pick each room’s perfect clash for the closet:

    Blue room? Open the closet door and… Surprise! Orange.
    Yellow room? Purple closet.
    etc.

    And you could use those really bright hues, too. An eye-popping color might help jolt the groggy teenagers awake as they stumble through getting dressed in the morning.

  10. 8 January 2009 1:53 pm

    Errm. Hi. Beth is me. B. Just in case you were wondering.
    I don’t tend to out myself if I can help it, but I’m not hiding, considering I go by Beth on the newcastle photo blog. Oh well….

  11. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    8 January 2009 2:33 pm

    Kathy and Cate: Really? You’ve never heard of painting closets? Ours are dingy white (one is so dingy it’s yucky yellow). I figure we’ve been here 8.5 years, and I think it would do a world of freshening up. (Also, I really want to paint our bedroom and the office, but that will definitely get done some day, whereas the closets, maybe not).

    3 of 4: Nope, I want to SEE what’s in my closet, so they will all be painted white.

    Realize, all of you, that if I had my druthers, the outside of my house would be painted pistachio and eggplant. (Damn those “resale value” arguments!)

    B: I figured it was you from the link, but didn’t want to out you, if it was a mistake. “B” is a fine moniker, we’ll keep using it!

  12. 8 January 2009 3:27 pm

    I went from English size 14 to 10 in a year – I think that’s your 12-8. That was 20 pounds. I’m now ‘normal’ (yeah, right) and have another 10 to go. I’m short, however, and wouldn’t be thin at 115 pounds (not what I’m aiming for). If I can do it, you can, but please don’t be too ambitious, because that’s the way to become discouraged. 2-4 pounds a month is a good weight loss, forget about the couple of pounds a week unless there was something seriously wrong with your diet in the first place (I don’t see you as the cheeseburger queen) and 10 – 15% of your bodyweight lost in a year is as much as is sustainable for most people. Crash dieting is only a good idea if you are morbidly obese and on the brink of a heart attack, and most people who lose a lot of weight quickly put it on almost as fast.

    Good luck with your resolutions

Leave a Reply

