Skip to content

Year 2008 Quiz

31 December 2008

I’ve seen this on a few blogs, and after melanie posted hers, I decided to give it a go. Not particularly deep reflection, but it’s better than nothing!

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Let my daughter stay home alone overnight.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
No, I didn’t keep them. I’ve mentioned that I’m not very good at keeping resolutions, and I’ve decided that it’s because I don’t tell people about them (no accountability, in other words). This year, I’ll tell people.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope. I think our siblings may be nearing the end of the reproductive phase. (But! My cousin had a baby, and I made a Baby Surprise Jacket for him.)

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Yes.

5. What countries did you visit?
None! This is very disturbing to me. We didn’t even get to Canada when we were in New Hampshire. I totally expected us to get up to Montreal again (since we loved it so much when we tagged along with the Consort when he participated at a conference 5 years ago) or to have a chance to get to Quebec.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
Serenity. Zen. Inner calm.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
November 4. (You know why.)

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Recognizing some of my weaknesses and at least thinking about how to change them.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Nothing written, except for the blog.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I fell on the ice in February (geez, that sounds so octogenarian of me), and it took me a long, long time to get over the mess it made in my shoulder.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
The baking stone and brotform for making sourdough. I had a nagging feeling that my family wouldn’t like sourdough. Boy, was I wrong! I’m still making it about once a week.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Hmmm. Well, did you know that at the Consort’s university, there is a history of sabbaticals breaking couples up? So I went into the sabbatical year with a bit of trepidation (especially since the Consort was going to be spending a lot of time working from our living space – where I typically work). But I think the sabbatical was great for our relationship. So, go us!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Politicians and moneymakers.

14. Where did most of your money go?
The usual. House, food, transportation. We haven’t been able to donate as much as we’d like (thanks, Bush economy).

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The solar oven and the food I made in it.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

Fun for Me by Moloko

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:_a) happier or sadder?_b) thinner or fatter?_c) richer or poorer?
a) Happier (back around friends!) and sadder (no more New England landscape)
b) The same.
c) Richer (now that sabbatical is over and the Consort is getting full salary again) and poorer (the economy, again)

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Hiked and been outdoors.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Letting other people’s meanness get under my skin.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
Quietly, at home, with the Consort and the girls.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?
Every day. I mean, really, how could I not?

22. What was your favorite TV program?
We don’t watch TV, we rent videos (no commercials, more control of our time), so I’m behind the curve. But I really enjoy Battlestar Gallactica (we’re in season 3). I know they’re planning to end it after the coming season, and that makes me sad.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate is a poisonous emotion. But I have let others’ insecurity and jealousy get to me.

24. What was the best book you read?
I have not been very impressed with books for the past few years. I don’t like the similarity of so many of the “best sellers” (why is a story interesting only if a family member has been violated in some way and the family doesn’t talk about it?). I wish MBAs hadn’t ruined the publishing industry with their business models.
But I did enjoy Geraldine Brooks’ Nine Parts of Desire.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Natalie MacMaster.

26. What did you want and get?
New living room furniture.

27. What did you want and not get?
A Prius.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
The Dark Knight. (It was also the only film I saw in a movie theater.)

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 40. I spent my birthday weekend down in DC celebrating with my sisters (massage, drinks, dinner, movie – oops! I did see a second movie in theaters: Cloverfield. Not a good choice after having a few drinks, let me tell you!)

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
We still have our jobs, we still have our house, we have health insurance and good education. I am not complaining.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Make an effort. And wear a blazer (second-hand is fine – mine is).

32. What kept you sane?
This man.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Oh, come on. Do you even have to ask? Barack Obama.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
The destruction of the environment. Every day.

35. Who did you miss?
My godmother. My grandmother.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Our Boston friends Chris and Catherine.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
If you let someone’s mean attitude get to you, they’ve won.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Back to life, back to reality.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 31 December 2008 11:12 am

    Hope you have a wonderful New Year’s Eve! (I like #37 – it’s a good rule to live by.)

  2. 31 December 2008 12:02 pm

    Numbers 21 and 32 are my favorites. With the world full of cynics, seeing those two items restores my faith in human beings.

  3. 31 December 2008 4:51 pm

    What a fabulous portrait for #32. I wish you and yours good health and serenity in the new year.

  4. 1 January 2009 5:07 am

    I took your lead and answered this as well. Beats blogging about my dog again!

  5. 1 January 2009 10:06 am

    Oh, these are great. So much info, though — you could have gotten 3 posts out of these!

  6. Cateling permalink
    5 January 2009 9:37 am

    When I saw this fruit bowl, I was reminded of the photos of your holiday dinner. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/04/education/edlife/ideas-fruitbowl-t.html?ref=edlife

    My kids are back at school today. Are yours?

  7. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    6 January 2009 8:59 pm

    That does look similar!

    Mine is Belgian lace, brought back by my mother on one of her trips home. We don’t make rolls very often, so it doesn’t get a lot of use, but it is oh-so-pretty.

Leave a Reply

