Skip to content

Holiday Baking with Optimism and Snark

22 December 2008

Optimism: Hi, Snark! You want to help me finish these gingerbread cookies for the holiday party?

Snark: Sure. You mentioned you were going to make a different kind of gingerbread cookie this year, weren’t you?

Optimism: Yup, I made Flying Spaghetti Monsters. I’ve already baked them. We just need to decorate them.

Snark: OK.

Optimism: Here they are, I’ve already set them out.

IMG_3167.JPG

Snark: Holy Mother of … !!!

Optimism: What?

IMG_3166.JPG

Snark: They’re … I have no words.

Optimism: What on earth is wrong with you?

Snark: How do I … OK. Remember Animal? The character from the Muppets?

Optimism: Yes …..
052507_animal

Snark: These just remind me of, well, maybe what Animal had underneath his clothes.

Optimism: Oh, for heaven’s sake! But I do see what you mean. That’s alright. I bet once we get the eyes on the eye stalks, it won’t be so unclear. I’ll squeeze the royal icing glue, and you can put the red-hots on.

Flying spaghetti monsters, getting their eyes applied

Snark: *Snicker*

Optimism: What now?

Snark: Doesn’t it look like they’ve got crabs, now?

Optimism:

Optimism:

Optimism: Out! Get out of my kitchen!

Snark: Oh, come on! It was funny!

Optimism: I don’t want to talk to you right now!

Snark: Admit it — it’s kinda true, isn’t it?

Optimism: No! It is not true! And I bet everyone at the party will LOVE THEM!

Gingerbread flying spaghetti monsters

(It’s true—they were a big success.)

((Oh, and if you are interested, you can see other pictures of some of the food from the Holiday Party here.))

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 22 December 2008 7:38 pm

    Awesome noodly appendages!

  2. 23 December 2008 7:17 am

    So very innovative! How’d you get them stringy?

  3. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    23 December 2008 9:22 am

    KathyR: Thanks!

    Mizmell: With a garlic press!

  4. cowgirl permalink
    23 December 2008 10:02 am

    ANIMAL–ANIMAL– lol – they do kind of look like that 🙂

  5. 23 December 2008 11:09 am

    Those are what I thought they were (I briefly saw a pic on your flickr page). What a great idea! I think the Mister is going to want to make them.

  6. isabelita permalink
    23 December 2008 8:09 pm

    Those cephalopodic cookies are delightful! FSM would approve, if it existed…

  7. 24 December 2008 8:07 am

    Wow, that’s some serious Martha Steward nation going on around there.

Leave a Reply

