Skip to content

A Favor, Please?

7 December 2008

Every year at about this time, I have an epiphany during our traditional gingerbread house building/sliding/bostering up/sliding/putting back together/falling (again!)/resetting experience:

Next year, I want to put it together using a glue gun, and use the royal icing just for decoration.

Unfortunately, in the 365-ish days between the epiphany and the subsequent house-building I forget this genius idea. So, can one of you please remind me of the glue gun idea sometime in late November 2009?

I would thank you muchly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 December 2008 4:58 pm

    The only time I ever built any such thing, we cheated. We “glued” the gingerbread sides of the house (with icing for glue) to a rectangle made from a milk carton. Attaching the roof was still a bit tricky, as I recall, but the sides went right on and stayed on straight.

    This was not my idea. I think I saw it in a magazine somewhere.

    I’ll file that next to “glue gun” for November.

  2. 7 December 2008 7:47 pm

    I’ll try. No promises, though, as my own memory is holding fast at about 5% effective.

  3. 8 December 2008 5:45 am

    What? No picture?

  4. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    8 December 2008 7:17 am

    Oh, they’re coming. I just have to wait for the sun to come out…

Leave a Reply

