Skip to content

Flu Shot Story

2 December 2008

Imperatrix: OK, girls, time to get our flu shots. Now, Trixie, you should go first, since you sometimes have a hard time with shots.

Trixie: I know.

Imperatrix: Remember, at your check-up you actually jerked your arm away as the nurse was trying to administer a vaccine, and the medicine just dribbled down your arm.

Trixie: I know!

Impera: Shots don’t hurt.

Nurse: Hello, everyone!

Imperatrix: Trixie, do you want me to stand next to you?

Trixie: That’s not necessary.

Trixie: … Unless, like, you want to.

Imperatrix: (Stands beside Trixie and rambles on about nothing to keep her daughter’s attention away from the shot.)

Trixie: *!*!*!

Trixie: Wow, that burned a little.

Impera: I’ll go next.

Nurse: (Administers shot.)

Impera: I didn’t feel a thing.

Nurse: OK, Mom, you’re up!

Imperatrix: Ow. OW! (Swings her leg.) Oooooh, boy — that is one stinging shot!

Nurse: Gee, you’re the most wiggly of the three of you!

Imperatrix: (For the entire car ride back home) Ow! Man! That shot really stings. Ow! Oof! Aaaaargh!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 December 2008 8:11 am

    My husband *loved* getting a flu shot because he thought the nurse was hot.

  2. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    3 December 2008 9:23 am

    Hah! That’s funny. Of course, our nurse was young (and pregnant), so not the same appeal. Plus, I think older nurses are MUCH better at giving shots than the younger ones.

  3. 3 December 2008 10:48 am

    I have never gotten a flu shot.

  4. 3 December 2008 10:51 am

    It’s been a week since my flu shot and I still have a bruise where it was given – it hurt like hell going in too and I couldn’t lay on that side in bed for two nights. I don’t think it was the nurses fault either – she seemed perfectly adept at giving the shot – I think I’m just uber sensitive to everything.

  5. split sister permalink
    3 December 2008 2:38 pm

    Wow. You must have gotten a dud-neither of my girls cried, or even winced. Next time make sure you get a Garfield bandage the girls swear it helps:-)

  6. Three of Four permalink
    3 December 2008 2:42 pm

    When I was in high school, the family doctor used to require that I been given my shots in the way waaaaaay back room, with the door closed. If he could have gotten away with it, I would have been required to stand in the alley behind the building.

    Apparently, I had a reputation for scaring the little kids with my reactions…

  7. isabelita permalink
    3 December 2008 6:11 pm

    I never get flu shots. At one private school I taught in, the director took the staff over to get flus shots, but I refused to go. Very often they would get sick anyway, but I never did.
    My almost 91 year old mother told the doctor last fall she wouldn’t get one, either. She is rarely sick, figures she’s immune to about everything.
    I have kept my tetanus shot updated – there’s an injection which leaves your arm sore! – but will get no shots unless absolutely cornered.

  8. 4 December 2008 2:04 am

    There’s a reason they call them “jabs” over here.

    I’ve never had a flu shot either, ever since my husband and daughters ended up ill after receiving them 15 years ago.

  9. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    4 December 2008 7:24 am

    melanie: you aren’t uber sensitive! I really do think different people react differently. Impera doesn’t lie for effect, so I believe her that she didn’t feel a thing. Me, on the other hand … I’m still feeling the soreness.

    3 of 4: Were you guys still going to Dr. Zheutlin then? That totally sounds like something he’d do.

    All the rest of you: I am amazed at how many people don’t get flu shots. With the girls still in school, and the Consort teaching, it definitely makes a big difference. I’ll tell you something else that makes a big difference: washing hands when getting home. We’ve significantly reduced the amount of roaming germage by doing these two things.

Leave a Reply

