Skip to content

Treats

26 November 2008

Kathy asked for info on the treats my mother has brought from Belgium for us. Here you go:

Treats from Belgium

If you click on the photo, it should bring you to the flickr photo page, where I’ve added notes on some of the deliciousness.

You’ll notice that the chocolate bars are filled chocolate. The Belgian way of eating chocolate bars (or at least, the way everyone in my family does it) is to make a butter sandwich (you know — bread and butter), break off a line of chocolate, then take a bite of the bread, take a bite of the chocolate, and enjoy!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Three of Four permalink
    26 November 2008 8:59 am

    Hey! I didn’t get any Panache. 😦
    Harrumph!

  2. 26 November 2008 9:11 am

    All of that looks delicious! My Dutch father-in-law always brings good Dutch chocolate when he visits us. The Dutch do the chocolate-and-butter-on-bread thing, too, though in this case their chocolate takes that form of sprinkles called hagel (hail). When my father-in-law was a kid, his family’s rule was that you could cover your bread with as much chocolate as you want, but as soon as one piece of hagel fell into the plate you had to stop adding more. Needless to say, all of the kids became quite adept at building incredibly tall, cone-shaped mountains of chocolate in the middle of their bread slices.

  3. cowgirl permalink
    26 November 2008 9:15 am

    man- there better be some Speculoos left for my family!!!!

  4. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    26 November 2008 1:38 pm

    Uh oh, I think this post was a bad idea. Let’s not compare what siblings get or don’t get, OK? Or I will have gotten our mother in trouble! Remember that my girls are older, and so can’t be spoiled with little toys and gifts like younger kids. And, of course, my family happens to be the largest gourmands (and I’m using that term correctly, mind you — not as a fake synonym for gourmet!), so we can snarf down this stuff like nobody’s business.

    Marsha: Yeah, I knew that about the Dutch chocolate. I’ve tried it, and Dutch choc. sprinkles are more sweet than what I like. Funny how each country’s chocolate recipe is different, huh?

  5. 26 November 2008 9:16 pm

    Phew, PI! Good thing you didn’t take a picture of all the money!

  6. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    26 November 2008 9:20 pm

    Consort: 😉

  7. 26 November 2008 9:54 pm

    Oh yeah. I meant: 🙂

    jk. lol. rofllol. haha. lolzlol. bur. w. mdr. kek1. 555.

    lqtm1! >:-)

  8. isabelita permalink
    27 November 2008 4:10 pm

    What are Smurf Schtroumpfs?! I have seen Smurf marshmallows in an American discount store – bright blue, hideous-looking – but this treat above is new to me!
    Have a good T-Day!

  9. 28 November 2008 7:03 am

    Butter bread and chocolate? Is that something akin to champagne and strawberries?

  10. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    28 November 2008 10:51 am

    isabelita: Schtroumpf is the French word for Smurf (which is actually the Flemish [aka Dutch] word for the little blue creatures). I think I have some of the original comic books around. I’ll try to get a picture of them for you guys. Really, the original idea was quite entertaining!

    MizMell: Yes, that is a great analogy. But the bread and chocolate is better!

  11. 30 November 2008 1:24 pm

    I’m all about the butter and chocolate sandwich. ALL about it.

  12. 1 December 2008 1:01 pm

    Is the bread and butter thing so you don’t end up free basing the chocolate?

    Those individually wrapped Speculoos–I almost bought those, but ended up getting a big package of four separate packages. I’m thinking of using them for a pie crust like graham crackers.

    My friend has a recipe for Speculoos cake. I am hoping that’s what she’s making me on Wednesday when I go to her house for tea!

Leave a Reply

