Skip to content

The Crossword Puzzle Effect

24 November 2008

Have you ever done a crossword puzzle in a book? You know the type — with the solutions in the back?

I find that the minute I peek in the back to find the answer for one particularly tricky clue, I can’t figure out any more clues on my own. Once I’ve cheated (even though we don’t call it cheating), my brain turns off and refuses to even figure out easy clues like “Limerick land” or “Mischievous Norse god” (if you read this blog, you will know that answer!).

Missing one day of NaBloPoMo seems to be susceptible to the same Crossword Puzzle Effect. I had no desire to write anything yesterday. And today, well lucky for you I noticed this CP Effect and decided to take a few minutes to type it up. I’m not sure how well I’ll be blogging for the next week. We’ve got a Thanksgiving house guest (my mother, who reads here from time to time and wouldn’t appreciate it if I kept telling her I “had work to do” but just so happened to post long, detailed posts instead!)

Also, she’s brought all sorts of Belgian treats, and it’s going to take enough of my energy to resist eating it all myself in the next 3 days (’cause the girls have school for the next 3 days, then are off for Thanksgiving break, you see).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 November 2008 7:33 am

    I often photocopy the (Wed through Sun) NYTimes puzzle at the library. If I’m a few days behind though, I cover the answer to the previous day, before I put it on the photocopier. Because like you, if I *know* I have the answer, I can’t help but take a peek. Weird, huh?

  2. 25 November 2008 9:39 am

    Resistance is futile…I say go for the Belgian treats and get back on the sugar wagon after Tgiving!

  3. 25 November 2008 2:22 pm

    I think a blog post about Belgian treats is in order. Photos? Recipes? Descriptions?

    See? I’m trying to help you out here. Blogging is easy with friends like me, right?

  4. Cateling permalink
    25 November 2008 9:10 pm

    If you need me to come and “help” you with the Belgian treats, remember I’m only 2 hours away. But I could get there faster if chocolate is on the line. 🙂

  5. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    26 November 2008 8:48 am

    Ellie: I’m glad I’m not the only one with this weakness!

    TEoM: Hey! Welcome back. But I don’t know if the family would appreciate me dipping into treats when they are off at school — they wouldn’t trust me any longer.

    Kathy, you’ve been giving me tons of good ideas. I just need to find the time to address them (but I did take a pic of the treats!).

    Cate: OK!

Leave a Reply

