Skip to content

Chapped Lips, No Blistex

6 November 2008

I don’t know why (because we haven’t had the heat on), but my lips have become terribly dry. The scaly, peely type of dry. We only had beeswax lipbalms in the house, so I went down to Walgreens to pick up some Blistex lip ointment — you know, the serious stuff.

lip-oint72

They don’t sell it anymore! I can’t believe it. I don’t like Carmex (it stings), I don’t like Chapstick (it’s just thick petroleum), and my everyday lip balm is a beeswax ginger and lemon Badger stick.
xgingerlemon15

I need something that will get rid of scaly dry lips. What do you recommend? (Preferably not something I need to go to a department makeup counter for, but in this case, I want something that really works, so I’d be willing to consider a special trip to the mall.)

Thank you!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 November 2008 6:28 am

    OMG. No more runny-version Blistex??? I have loved that stuff since back when it was in metal tubes and would separate out if you left it too long.

    I’m a Carmex gal, so I don’t know what to tell ya. I’ll check out the stores down here and see if we have some blistex still lying around, mkay?

  2. Three of Four permalink
    7 November 2008 7:55 am

    It’s not packaged for lip use, but when the Hobbit had severely chapped lips, the pediatrician recommended Aquaphor. It’s amazing! I used to keep a tube in my purse for my own use. Your local pharmacy should definitely carry it.

  3. Three of Four permalink
    7 November 2008 7:57 am

    Oops. Comment lost? Try Aquaphor: http://www.eucerinus.com/medicalsite/products/handandbodycare/aquaphor/aquaphor.html
    Not packaged for lips, but pediatrician recommended and it definitely works!

  4. 7 November 2008 8:09 am

    Vaseline petroleum jelly, in a little squeezable tube. It’s all you’ll ever need.

  5. 7 November 2008 4:29 pm

    I agree with your sister, I have an unscented vitamin E body butter from The Body Shop that I use in the winter time, and I just dab a little on my lips when they get overly dry.

Leave a Reply

