Skip to content

Does This Look OK?

21 October 2008

I have learned a few things, living with myself for the past 40 years or so:

  1. I am way more productive if I “dress up” a bit (where baseline for work-at-home freelancer = sweatpants and t-shirt, or pajamas).
  2. Wearing baggy clothes doesn’t hide anything, it just makes me look saggier and baggier than i already am.
  3. I don’t have a very good sense of style when left to my own devices.

I have decided that today would be a good day to go down to my neighborhood coffeeshop to do some work later (my Wii Fit avatar is telling me I’ve been making good progress, so it’s like a reward of sorts). I have a couple of errands to run down that direction anyway, and the rest of the week is going to be rainy, so a short walk in a new-to-me skirt and my new boots today would be fun (see point 1). Part of my consignment store haul the other day was a cool black velvet skirt, that I figured would go very well with my new boots. I’ve also purchased some scoop-neck tops, because I think they look cute and would look nice under sweaters and with scarves.

The top is long, and I think the outfit looked stupid with the shirt tucked in, so I figured a belt would give me the waist definition I think would be good (see point 2). Problem is, I don’t have any belts. I grabbed one of the Consort’s and I threw this together:

IMG_2486.JPG

Let’s ignore that bulginess at the hip, all right? How does this look? Can I go out in public this way? (See point 3.) Does the velvet skirt look alright with the knit top? Here’s a close-up:

IMG_2488.JPG

Does the narrow leather belt make it too 1980s-ish?

IMG_2489.JPG

I am not looking for praise here, people. Tell me the truth. Pretend you’re my college roommate and I’m about to walk out onto campus like this (if college were for middle-aged students). It’s 10:30 now and I’ll probably head out in about an hour.

I would really like some feedback, please. Heck, I even made my bed before I took the pictures for you — that’s got to be worth something, right?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. cowgirl permalink
    21 October 2008 10:42 am

    Ok– here we go:

    YES- you can out like that– knit & velvet are materials that go fine together – and it is a very “au courant” outfit. I like it 

    It is a good look, and your fear on to “80’s” is nonsense—the 80’s are SO back in a big way (leggings anyone ;)). While the belt is narrow, it is wide enough to give the correct look – thinner gives a more professional look, wider a more casual one – so since you want to dress up—you are good to go to that coffee shop.

    Side note: I would say go back to that consignment store and but a large (3 inch wide) black belt for this outfit and you have 2 different looks, and the wide belt will come in handy if you want to wear other knit tops like this throughout the winter.

  2. 21 October 2008 10:46 am

    I think it looks fine, but I don’t think anyone should rely on my fashion advice either. I say wait for someone else more fashion-sensible to weigh in.

    Don’t worry about the 80’s look though – they’re back!

  3. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    21 October 2008 11:56 am

    To prove how out of touch I am, I didn’t really know that there was an eighties resurgence. Really, I didn’t.

    Thanks for the feedback — I’m typing this from the coffeeshop, enjoying a pot of mint green tea and getting work done, simultaneously!

    (And cowgirl: after posting I thought to myself that I should just buy a wide belt at the consignment store!)

  4. 21 October 2008 1:24 pm

    You look stunning, Imperatrix! And I see no unsightly bulges whatsoever.

  5. 21 October 2008 1:35 pm

    Looks good to me! (I like those little buttons at the wrists on the top, too.)

  6. 21 October 2008 1:42 pm

    It’s for sure go-outsideable. But I’m not in love, which has nothing to do with bulges!

    I think your overall instincts are good. A belt does help with that shirt. The changes I’d make:

    1) A different colored top–the heathered gray is a different level of casual than the skirt and boots. (I want to see the boots!).
    2) A wider belt. Like maybe something like this?

    I also totally get the need to dress up for productivity.

    (I hope my html worked)

  7. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    21 October 2008 8:00 pm

    Katherine: Shaaaa, you’re sweet.

    Marsha: The top is Land’s End — you can have the buttons on your sleeve, too!

    Stew: You’re right about the top. But I only have a white, black, or gray one right now. I’ll be keeping my eye out for bargains! (And it’s really hard to take a picture of boots, let me tell you, but here’s my attempt.) I like that belt! But I don’t like that price 😦 I’ll see what I can find that’s similar…

  8. 22 October 2008 4:16 am

    Late but…I like it. You look good. I like the colour of the top but I think the belt is verging on being too narrow. Having said that, it’s certainly get-away-with-itable.

  9. 22 October 2008 4:39 am

    Fashion sense? I think you’re way ahead of me. I’m a Dockers and golf shirt kind of gal these days–as I work with so many men in IT. My city-girl daughter says I have lost my femininity! But I can’t see doing my job in a skirt.

  10. 22 October 2008 6:57 am

    Imperatrix my first thougt was very elegant and definately no bulges just curvyness

  11. 22 October 2008 8:37 am

    Agree with Stew about the wider belt idea. Otherwise, I think that’s a fine ensemble for coffeehouse hanging. I mean working. I love gray and black.

    Are you wearing those cute boots?

    Got a scarf or a necklace? Or were you planning to go with the camera?

  12. 22 October 2008 8:41 am

    I wish I could help you — I really do. I am a fashion don’t myself, though.

  13. 22 October 2008 12:05 pm

    PI–those boots ROCK! And just for the record, I’d never ever ever ever buy a belt at that price! Nuh UH! It was just for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

