Skip to content

Battle of Wills

20 October 2008

So. The dog. She still requires walks every day, rather than using the backyard.

My MIL, the dog breeder, thinks that her inside accidents were due to the UTI she had few weeks back. She says that the only way to get Zephyr to remember that the backyard is for doing her business is to keep her in her crate and only let her out a few times a day to the backyard. Praise her when she does what she’s supposed to, and she’ll start remembering the routine.

The Consort is in China this week (did I mention this here? I think so), which makes this a perfect time to retrain Zephyr (too many cooks spoil the broth — or, an absent-minded spouse will forget the plan and let her roam about the house). I let her out to the yard this morning (she did nothing but wait by the back door for me to let her back in), then put her back in her crate.

She whimpered a bit at first, then settled down. At lunchtime, I figured I’d get some fresh air while watching her out there, so I opened the door to her crate. She looked at me without even getting up, then snuggled back into her blankets and went back to sleep.

Oh, I see. You think you can manipulate me, huh, doggie? You think your disdain will crack me? Well, we’ll just have to see about who is the toughest beyotch in this house, baby.

Bring it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cowgirl permalink
    21 October 2008 9:08 am

    it has begun …

  2. 21 October 2008 10:42 am

    Ha! I laughed the baby right off my boob when I read that! She is now glaring at me.

  3. 22 October 2008 8:32 am

    I dunno, man. She’s already in your head…

Leave a Reply

