Skip to content

Which Do You Use?

14 October 2008

Bloglines or >GoogleReader?

I’ve been a bloglines person, but lately it’s been acting funky: not loading an updated feed when I select it, not refreshing (so that every time I go to bloglines, the same feeds I read earlier are once again marked “new” when they aren’t [and I’ve set my preferences to ignore updated posts, so that’s not it]), sometimes bloglines is unavailable all together.

So yesterday I exported everything to Google (although their level of snooping freaks me out) and have been trying out their Reader. It seems nice, but there’s so much info on the page — it hurts my eyesssssssss! I like the cleaner look of Bloglines, and I don’t like that there doesn’t seem to be a way to remove the generic list of links (home, starred items, trends [like I give a hoot about my reading trends — that’s way too meta-statistical for me!], my “stuff” [I don’t know and I refuse to find out]) so that the only thing visible on the left is my list of feeds. Because that’s what I use a feed reader for: to check out my favorite blogs, not to worship at the Google altar. I also prefer the information you can get from Bloglines (how many other people subscribe to a feed, who the public subscribers are [that’s how I’ve come across some pretty cool blogs], etc.).

I’m sure I’ll get used to it, but I just wonder what you all use.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 14 October 2008 9:32 am

    Google Reader’s level of snooping freaks me out too. I feel like it’s about to link me to a “people who had a banana for breakfast TOO” post. So I fly solo. And no doubt spend way too much time clicking on stuff I’ve already read.

  2. alecto permalink
    14 October 2008 12:12 pm

    I use google reader exactly the way you do and ignore the rest.

  3. 14 October 2008 3:30 pm

    I’ve been using Google Reader for a long time now, and I really, really LURVE it. You can find out how many people subscribe to a blog: when you’re looking at a post, click on “show details” on the “list view” tab.

  4. 14 October 2008 3:31 pm

    Oh, and I actually like the trends features. I find it very useful for pruning my reading list when I start feeling like I have way too much stuff in my reader. If I see that I’m reading only a small percentage of a blog’s posts, then I figure it’s probably time to unsubscribe.

  5. 14 October 2008 5:56 pm

    I use bloglines, but I’ve had some issues with them, too, recently.

  6. pierre l permalink
    14 October 2008 6:30 pm

    I have been using Google Reader, since my previous tool, called kinja, closed down in April. I also use gmail, so I know they are reading my mail to create advertising, but I really like it as a mail server…
    One thing that I strongly dislike about Reader which I notice since they introduced the “following” feature is that they sometime unsubscribe me without warning. So, tonight I had to re-subscribe to three blogs; who knows how many I have lost that way… All three of today’s lost items had recent unread posts; I subscribe to several blogs which haven’t been updated for months and they are still there.
    I have e-mailed the Reader team to ask what is going on.

  7. 15 October 2008 4:53 am

    Bloglines. But they’re annoying me……

  8. 15 October 2008 7:48 am

    Bloglines. I haven’t had any problems.

  9. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    15 October 2008 7:48 am

    I used to have a bookmark folder that had all my blog links in it, and I would visit each every day (oh, those were the days!). Using a feed, I *still* visit a site more than once sometimes, for example if I’m checking to see if anyone has praised my perfect comment (ahem, ahem). I’m glad to know others are having Bloglines issues. Maybe they’ll fix it? And Marsha, thanks for telling me how to get the subscriber info on GoogleReader, I had no idea how to find that info. BUT: Bloglines will show you the feed lists of people who have set their lists to “public” — so you can visit other blogs those people like. That’s a great way to find cool new blogs.

    Thanks for sharing your input, everyone!

Leave a Reply

