Skip to content

“Free” Books

7 October 2008

Almost two weeks ago, the Consort found out about this person promising to send autographed books to people who donated to the Obama campaign. As Cate mentioned in the comments, this project was cancelled just as we all found out about it.

We donated to the campaign anyway, because we were planning to.

Yesterday, a box of books arrived. Woo-hoo! We must have submitted our donation just as she was ending her offer.

Books for Barack

I admit, I have not heard of most of these. I glanced at the Things I’ve learned from Women…” and I think it is crude and crass. Dan Savage has a piece in there which is *nothing* like his pieces on This American Life, and Stephen Colbert has a piece which is not funny (but then, I don’t find him particularly funny, anyway).

But! I’ll be reading the Chabon, and Verhaegen is a Belgian (I’ve never heard of him, though), and I’ll give the others a chance, too. (Although my family is very uncomfortable by the Edelman book; they say it’s not something that would be of use to us — I say it might be an interesting read, in any case.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 October 2008 2:20 pm

    The Chabon book is the best of the lot, in my opinion. I haven’t read that one yet (it’s on my list!), but I’ve heard great things about it. And The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay is one of the best books I’ve ever read.

  2. 7 October 2008 6:02 pm

    Seconding Marsha. Kavalier and Clay is right up there on my list of faves.

  3. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    7 October 2008 7:38 pm

    See, I tried K and C a few years ago, and just couldn’t get into it. Doesn’t stop me from wanting to read the YPU, though!

    So since both of you speak so highly of K and C, I will try it again sometime.

  4. 7 October 2008 7:56 pm

    Huh. It never occurred to me that losing my mother (and, you know, I didn’t LOSE her — I know exactly where she’s buried) would have made me a different mother. Maybe she means people who grew up without mothers rather than people who lost -cough- their mothers later. Weird, anyhoo.

  5. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    8 October 2008 8:46 am

    Idioms are crazy things. To be honest, I haven’t cracked the book open yet, but I do assume it has more to do with mothers who die when their daughters are not adults. I figure it might have some good things to say, even if one’s mother was around but dealing with untreated depression, say, as in my case. I’ll let you know.

  6. 8 October 2008 11:32 am

    I’ve always heard as well as seen that women who lose their mothers are neurotically worried about their children. At least that’s the excuse they used. (One a neighbor, another an ex-sister in law.)

    Anyway, go for the Chabon. I loved K&C too.

    Me, I must read up on the Tudors. I’m doing it tonight, I promise.

Leave a Reply

