Skip to content

Communication is a Key Aspect of Successful Relationships

6 October 2008

When the Consort came home last night, I told him about the mouse in the kitchen compost bucket. It took him a while to believe me, because it seems he has seen a mouse in the outdoor compost bin for a week or so now.

And he never told me???

We concluded, after discussing angles and position (my mouse was on top of the dumped in scraps, so it’s pretty unlikely that what I saw was the mouse he has seen in there) that we probably have two mice in the compost bin now. We’re hoping they are both males, and are very territorial.

Just a minute ago, as I was refilling my teacup in the kitchen, I heard Loki’s bell jangling, and I opened the back door, thinking he wanted to get in. He didn’t — he was chasing a mouse along the ground by the compost bin.

Later today, I am taking his bell off. We need to increase his chances of success. (And there are no baby birds at this time of year, anyway.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 October 2008 10:11 am

    There’s nothing quite as satisfying as the food chain in action…

  2. 7 October 2008 11:14 am

    Well, you know…you gave me such a hard time last time I found that family of ground squirrels in our compost that I figured there was no sense in going through all that again. Besides….the little mousey was so cute, and just kinda stuck in the compost barrel, so I figured he wasn’t doing any harm.

    I never imagined you were going to give him a friend!

  3. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    7 October 2008 12:05 pm

    “Ground squirrels”?

    You know and I know that they were rats — from the empty house next door!

  4. 8 October 2008 5:04 am

    By all means, increase his chances of success. At the very least, it may make the mouse move to new territory.

  5. 8 October 2008 4:52 pm

    Yeah, rats….But they were a lot cuter when I thought of them as ground squirrels.

  6. pierre l permalink
    12 October 2008 5:32 am

    Hello Imperatrix. I’m sorry that I’ve fallen behind with my reading. About you cat: at least he was chasing the mouse. May I refer you to the sad story of Miff (Rachel from North London’s cat who is scared of the mouse, and watches as the mouse eats the cat food).
    rachelnorthlondon.blogspot.com/2007/08/mouse-update-miff-shame-continues.html
    Apologies: I know it’s not etiquette to advertise other peoples’ blogs; feel free to edit or delete the comment. I won’t be offended.

  7. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 October 2008 10:48 am

    Thanks Pierre! What a saga she had — although I could have done without the picture in the last post about it! 😉

    Welcome back!

  8. 13 October 2008 3:10 pm

    That might well have been just one mousey, diligently trundling the compost. I would want to discover which direction was his final destination…

  9. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    13 October 2008 6:51 pm

    That’s what the Consort wondered, leslie. But I dumped out the compost and the mouse was on top of the pile, implying that it had been in the bottom of the compost bucket, rather than on top of the compost pile and had climbed (too fast to be possible, imo).

    Its final destination was down, into the compost. But since then I’ve seen it run across the backyard. Eeesh.

Leave a Reply

