Skip to content

Quandary

9 September 2008


My glasses are all scratched up. For the past six months, I’ve been looking forward to being back in town so I could get my prescription checked, and pick out new frames. My current frames are rectangles, and I prefer that to the rounded glasses of my youth.

(Do you remember when glasses were huuuuuge, with the tops above your eyebrows and the bottoms touching your cheeks?

Yeesh.)

When I am in the market for something, like glasses, I start to pay attention to magazines and advertisements, getting an idea of the different styles that might appeal to me. I’m not a creature of fashion, but there are so many choices in glasses frames, that I like to go into the shop with some sort of idea of what I’m looking for. Also, I am so blind that it is difficult for me to see what I look like in the new frames (how pitiful is that?). I’m thinking that maybe I should take one of the girls with me and she can take snapshots of me with the different frame choices. Thanks to digital photography, I can then put my old glasses back on and see how they fit on my face before choosing.

Unfortunately, Sarah Palin has great glasses. I really, really like the frames she wears. (Although, holy moly, how many pairs of glasses can one person use? Am I the only person who only has one pair at a time?)

My quandary is this:

Would picking out new frames soon be seen as silent support for this politician who I disagree with on practically all points? (What are those people called, Paliniacs? — Do I want to be seen as a Paliniac?)

In other words, is it my duty to live with scratched up lenses for another 6 months or so (or, at least until after the election)? 

I wouldn’t mind (too much) to wait until December. A bit of blindness for me is better than any sort of support for her. Really.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. 9 September 2008 11:27 am

    Get what you want. Lefty voters need cool glasses, too.

  2. cowgirl permalink
    9 September 2008 11:30 am

    No Worries– get the glasses. Tina Fey has been spoting the sam elook for a while (as have a few others)

    http://photos.tmz.com/galleries/sarah_palin_lookalikes

  3. cowgirl permalink
    9 September 2008 11:31 am

    that should be “sporting the same look” — hit submit accidentally

  4. 9 September 2008 12:48 pm

    We-e-e-l-l-l, that depends on how much like Palin that you look physically. If you think that you look different enough from her—and I hope to high heaven that you don’t soundanything like her—then yeah, go ahead and get the glasses.

  5. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    9 September 2008 1:14 pm

    I’ve got brown hair, like she does, but that’s about it. And I certainly don’t have a Fargo accent, although, my goodness, the midwest is creeping into my voice!

  6. Split Sister permalink
    9 September 2008 1:25 pm

    Jut as the fact you have a vagina does not mean you support her, so too does the fact that you agree with her choice in eyewear mean you will not necessirly be mistaken as a fan of the gun-toting, female Hilter. I’m open mindied. Eveyone makes one good decisionn now and again. So she has a good sense of eye-wear style…we’ve got to give her something, no?

  7. 9 September 2008 2:24 pm

    Go for whatever glasses you want to wear! And if they happen to bear a resemblance to the ones Palin wears, well, then maybe people will start saying, “Wow, McCain’s running mate looks an awful lot like that awesome Peaceable Imperatrix!”

    Besides, six months from now Palin will be utterly forgotten anyway. 🙂

  8. Three of Four permalink
    9 September 2008 2:39 pm

    I’m with Cowgirl — Caribou Barbie wasn’t the first public figure to sport that look.

  9. 9 September 2008 7:22 pm

    OMG Caribou Barbie is the best nickname I’ve heard evar.

    PI: it’s your duty as a progressive to reclaim those glasses for the good guys. Erm, gals.

  10. 9 September 2008 8:50 pm

    No, please don’t. I mean, I agree that ‘Lefties need good glasses’, and ‘good guys should reclaim good glasses’, but PLEASE don’t make Sarah Palin an avatar of glasses fashion.

  11. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    10 September 2008 8:52 am

    Oh, but I really like her glasses. Probably because she looks so put-together (and sexy!) in them, and I still battle with knowing I look terrible in glasses. If we didn’t have kids moving into the college-bound years soon, I would seriously consider laser surgery. Glasses make me look older I think, and I hate that.

  12. Cateling permalink
    10 September 2008 9:24 pm

    I have never understood why anyone thinks that their glasses make them look older. I don’t think that’s true of any of the glasses-wearers I know.

  13. 11 September 2008 3:49 am

    I know what you mean about not being able to see–I always wear contacts when choosing frames, but with the correct lenses in the frames, my eyes look tiny anyway.

    I can’t wear those rimless versions, due to the thickness of my lenses. I also don’t like heavy dark frames. Everyone I know who wears them is mean.

    If she does nothing else, I hope Sarah Palin makes girls in glasses cool again.

    BTW, I am putting off buying new glasses, even though my prescription got 3/4 worse in one eye, because I am donating more and more to the Obama campaign. Glasses would cost at least $800 here, so that’s how I’m justifying my donations. For now. Maybe in December we can get a 2 for 1 deal.

  14. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    12 September 2008 9:23 am

    Cate: I’ve tried in the past two days to take pictures of me with and without glasses, and in every case, my eyes look puffy without glasses! But when I look at family portraits we’ve had taken with me in contacts, I look way better than in the ones with me in glasses. But that’s sweet of you to say (you non-glasses wearer, you).

    Kathy: Yep, I’ve done that too, and it’s the ideal situation. But for the past 4 years or so, I’ve given up on contacts. I spend so much time at the computer that they dry out if I wear them during the day, and if I’m wearing them just on weekends, then their price is way higher than their usefulness. Oh well. I should just love me the way I am, I suppose.

    (But $800 for glasses? Yikes!)

  15. 12 September 2008 11:26 am

    It’s OK. People won’t think you’re a Palin supporter if you choose similar glasses. (and you’re right; they’re nice glasses!)

    I only have one pair at a time. I do normally wear contacts though. My current glasses are eight years old, three dioptres too weak and generally terrible. I really need to chose some new ones. But I hate glasses shopping! Aaaargh. It’s no fun when you’re -8.50.

  16. Cateling permalink
    13 September 2008 12:33 am

    I should be a glasses-wearer, but I am not very good at establishing new habits, so right now I am only wearing them when I have a headache from not wearing them. 🙂 Plus I lost the pair with the most current prescription so I’m working with a 4-year-old prescription until January when my insurance will pony up for a new pair of glasses. At which time I will be getting the totally cute plum plastic quasi-cat-eye frames with lime green lining that I coveted when I was helping my son to choose his frames.

  17. Rob permalink
    24 September 2008 10:10 am

    Just get the glasses, and stop obsessing! Two months from now, no-one will remember her.

  18. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    24 September 2008 10:39 am

    OK! But Rob, I sure wouldn’t spend close to $400 for frames — I just like the general style.

    Also, now I can’t find the time to make an eye appointment, so I suppose the point is moot, eh?

Leave a Reply

