Skip to content

The Streets Are Alive with the Sound of Mopeds (tra-la-la-laaaa!)

4 September 2008

I’ve noticed many more mopeds on the road (read: “some”, vs. the previous “none”). I’m guessing it has to do with the rising cost of oil.

Anybody else noticing this where they live?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. cowgirl permalink
    4 September 2008 3:50 pm

    oh man- they are RAMPANT here 🙂 There are 2 new Vespa stores in Dallas, and a little boutique place opened up in the town next to me .

  2. 5 September 2008 10:00 am

    No, not at all. I am seeing a whole lot of Minis, though.

    Just heard on the news yesterday that along with our housing slump, Britain now has a car slump. No one’s buying new cars, with the exception of small cars. I have Mini fever myself–even measured the new Clubman to see if the dog would fit in the back.

  3. Three of Four permalink
    5 September 2008 10:51 am

    Not so many mopeds, but LOTS of Smart cars. It took them soooo long to come here from Europe, but I’m glad they did. Of course, they’re not really helping our regional carpool movements…

  4. 7 September 2008 9:54 am

    Mopeds, but more motorcycles.

    I’m hanging on to my 9 years old Saturn that gets me 34-36 mpg. It’s not the most attractive car in the parking lot, but it sure makes me proud.

  5. 8 September 2008 6:24 pm

    I’ve noticed an increase in my city too – but what I think is the most noteworthy is the increase of older women on bikes, that is definitely something I haven’t noticed before. I find it very cool.

Leave a Reply

