Skip to content

My Priorities Are In Order

10 August 2008

The house is a big fat mess, as we are in the throes of packing. So, I took the time to make a FAIL today:

funny pictures
moar funny pictures

Go on, click on the picture and vote for me! Then it will be on the front page for all Web surfers to see.

We went for one last hike on Saturday, on a bit of the Appalachian Trail that goes through town here. That’s where I snapped this photo.

If you don’t know much about the Appalachian Trail, you can find out more here. Essentially, it is a 2,175 mile footpath that goes from Georgia to Maine. It takes 5-7 months to thru-hike (most people just to a portion of the trail, or do nonconsecutive parts of it over several years). Bill Bryson’s book A Walk in the Woods is about his experiences on a part of the A.T.

One day (soon, I hope), we’ll do some of the A.T. That would be a perfect vacation: The adults would enjoy it, and the girls would complain. A lot. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 August 2008 9:42 pm

    Any second thoughts about going back?

  2. Peaceable Imperatrix permalink*
    11 August 2008 9:15 am

    It’s a real mix, Phil. The landscape here really calls to me. I don’t like the flatness and agricultural landscape of Iowa at all. On the other hand, we have a great group of friends in IA, and I miss them alot. Also, the cost of living in IA is lower, and the people are more open and friendly there. For all the wealth of the school district here, the IA k-12 system is great.

    So, right now I’m pretty sad, but on the other hand, I haven’t blogged at all about how difficult the friend-less situation here has been for me. I don’t know if the family could have thrived if it had lasted much longer..

Leave a Reply

