Skip to content

Marketing May Not Be My “Thing,” But…

21 July 2008

“Dad! Dad! You got a package!”

Mail is always a thrill at our house. Trixie had returned from the mailbox and held up the box for all to see:

IMG_3444.JPG

“Open it!” urged Impera.

So, the Consort did. (We are terribly respectful of mail in this house. If a box or a package is addressed to someone, then only that person can open it. Perhaps this doesn’t strike you as strange in any way, but for me, who grew up in a household where my mother opened all our mail — all the time, this is a BIG DEAL.)

“Eurrrrrrgh,” said Impera, who isn’t at all into even thinking about this sort of thing around her dad.

“Huh?” said the Consort, disappointed, who enjoys a package as much as the rest of us.

“What?” said I, not understanding what I saw.

“Lucky!” said Trixie, who would have loved to receive such a package of special things.

IMG_3446.JPG

Ummm, Kimberly-Clark? I understand you may want to expand your market-share. I understand that a mass mailing is sometimes the best way to go. But, I think you need to have the Birds and the Bees talk with your marketing department.

Because, you see the honorific on the address?

IMG_3445.JPG

The “Mr.”?

That should be a big enough clue that the recipient isn’t really part of your target market.

(Yep, he gave the contents to Trixie, who was thrilled, I tell you.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Three of Four permalink
    21 July 2008 5:07 pm

    Hahahaha!
    Please tell me that the Consort called that 888 number and asked detailed questions about the product(s) and his proper use of them.
    🙂

  2. 21 July 2008 5:13 pm

    But it’s illegal to open someone else’s mail! I get antsy opening D’s mail if he’s standing right in front of me telling me to do it.

    Funny. I’m glad Trixie was so happy 🙂

  3. 21 July 2008 6:38 pm

    I got one of those, too.

    And I tossed it, since I haven’t had need of its contents since sometime in February. And the rest of the house iz boyz.

    But maybe Kimberly-Clark knows something about boys that I don’t…

  4. 22 July 2008 11:22 am

    In a world where a man just gave birth to a baby, I suppose anything is possible. (My daughter goes to Smith. I am much more aware of gender bending than others my age.)

  5. 22 July 2008 12:51 pm

    Hilarious! Although I hate getting stuff like that (meaning mass-mailed stuff) in the mail, it always seems like such a waste – but to send it to a guy! Well, not only is it wasteful, it is downright silly. Good for a laugh I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

